STAR Fellows Program

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/star-fellows. Please update your bookmarks.

Databases
See the Databases A-Z List for a complete list of databases Lewis Library subscribes to.

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]

PubMed Some full text available
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience. 

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 
E-Books
See E-Books for a complete list of Lewis Library resources containing e-books.

AccessMedicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.

Clinical Key Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The eBook Collection contains a large selection of full-text multidisciplinary titles in core subject areas including medicine, science, technology, law, and humanities.
Medical Images & Multimedia
See the Medical Images & Multimedia guide for a complete list of resources.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal devoted to the publication of medical, chemical, biological, and physical research. Access includes JoVE General.

VisualDx Restricted Resource Resource contains images
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. Unlike any online text or database, VisualDx captures the variation disease presentation by age, skin type, body location and severity, combining the best medical images in the world with a unique search engine to give you patient-specific answers in seconds.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content