Evidence-Based Public Health Interventions

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/public-health. Please update your bookmarks.

Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format. For intervention searches, consider adding (program OR intervention) to your search strategy.

Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents. Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database. More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. For intervention searches, consider adding (program OR intervention) to your search strategy.

PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide. In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records. In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages. It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States. A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users. The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. For intervention searches, consider adding (program OR intervention) to your search strategy.

TRoPHI
The Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions covers trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. It includes references to more than 4,500 trials and is updated quarterly. While it does not contain full text, its specialized indexing enables searching on aspects such as country, health problem, population characteristics, or type of professional conducting the intervention. Along with the companion DoPHER database, TRoPHI is produced by The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre at the University of London.
Websites
The Community Guide
The Community Guide provides evidence-based recommendations on what works in public health. Based on a scientific systematic review process, the Community Guide discusses the details of interventions that have proven effective, including populations, settings, costs, and more. The Community Guide is produced by The Community Preventive Services Task Force, an independent organization appointed by the Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Evidence-Based Practice for Public Health Project
This project from the University of Massachusetts focuses on the best freely available resources for evidence-based practice in public health.

Grey Literature Report of the New York Academy of Medicine
Grey literature is research that falls outside the scope of traditional commercial publishers. It can come from government, academic, or industrial sources, and includes such publication types as technical reports, statistical reports, conference proceedings, and technical specifications. Grey literature is an important source of current information for public health professionals.

Guide to Clinical Preventive Services
Produced by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, The Guide to Clinical Preventive Services reviews the evidence supporting or contradicting the effectiveness of various preventive interventions. 

Healthy People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries
Ever experienced difficulty searching for public health evidence on PubMed? These structured queries represent carefully pre-formulated PubMed searches on a variety of public health issues. 

NACCHO Model Practices Database
NACCHO, or the National Association of County and City Health Officials, provides this free database of model practices from health agencies around the United States. 

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Phpartners.org provides access to statistics, data, funding information, research literature, and much more to support your intervention or program proposals. 
Books
Evidence-Based Public Health
This e-book by Ross C. Brownson covers a variety of issues related to evidence-based practice in public health, including community assessment, program evaluation, and how to assess evidence in the literature. A print copy is also available on reserve at the Service Desk.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Lisa Smith

Lisa Smith
Deputy Director
(817) 735-2601

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content