Pharmacy

Pharmacy Required Resources: State of Texas
Texas Pharmacy Act and Rules

Texas Dangerous Drugs Act and Rules

Texas Controlled Substances Act and Regulations

Federal Controlled Substances Act and Regulations

Drug Interaction Facts, 2014 Edition
This title is available in the Facts & Comparisons database.

Drug Facts and Comparisons, 2014 Edition
This title is available in the Facts & Comparisons database.

AHFS Drug Information
*This title is available in the STAT!Ref database.

Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy, 22nd Edition (2012)
This title is currently available in print only.

Clinical Pharmacology
This title is available in the Clinical Key database.

Handbook of Injectable Drugs, 17th Edition (2013)
This title is available in the STAT!Ref database.

The United States Pharmacopeia: The National Formulary

USP/NF Chapter 795

USP/NF Chapter 797

*This title is currently available in print only.
Databases

AccessPharmacy Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.   

AccessMedicine Drugs Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Search drugs by trade name, generic name, or drug class. A snapshot of the drug includes a photograph, formulation details, brand names, safety issues, generic availability, pharmacologic categories, and related terms. Basic information includes indications, usage, contraindications, warnings, precautions, adverse reactions, interactions, dosing and administration, pregnancy and lactation, clinical pharmacology, monitoring, storage, and patient education.
 
ClinicalTrials.gov Some full text available
Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about more than 90,000 federally and privately supported clinical research trials in human volunteers. Users can search the database or can browse by condition, drug intervention, sponsoring agency, or geographic location. Database records provide information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, study locations, contact information, and more.

DynaMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on Mobile Access to DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis. 

Facts & Comparisons Restricted Resource Some full text available
Facts & Comparisons is a primary source for drug information for pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, providing drug information, interactions, alternative herbal therapies, and patient medication handouts.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, provides citations to articles on drug therapy, toxicity, pharmacy practice, and more. This resource provides access to the abstracts of more than 800 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published from 1970 to the present.

Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.

Natural Standard Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
Natural Standard provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including diets and dietary supplements, functional foods, exercises, and complementary practices.  Evidence is systematically collected, peer-reviewed, and then summarized in monographs, which are updated every 3-18 months depending on the topic.  Evidence grades are provided for common and studied uses.  The Natural Standard site offers continuing education for healthcare providers, as well as tools such as comparison charts, interaction checkers, calculators, a dictionary, and RSS feeds.

PharmacyLibrary Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.

PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset Some full text available
This subset is designed to limit PubMed search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.  The  Dietary Supplement Subset is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine.  It replaced the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

STAT!Ref Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
STAT!Ref is primarily a collection of medical books, including dictionaries and other reference works. The database brings them together for easy searching, or browsing by title or discipline. STAT!Ref also includes point-of-care tools such as ACP Pier, ICD-9, and the MedCalc 3000 calculation tools. All content can be accessed via a mobile device.

TOXNET Resource contains images Some full text available

The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.
 

Selected Websites
Daily Med
DailyMed provides information about marketed drugs, including package inserts and FDA labels.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database includes information on more than 6,000 selected brands of dietary supplements.  Ingredients are linked to other National Library of Medicine databases such as PubMed and MedlinePlus.

Drug Information Portal
The Drug Information Portal serves as a gateway to selected drug information from the National Library of Medicine and other U.S. Government agencies. More than 17,000 drugs are included in the database. Drugs can be searched by trade name, generic name, or drug category. A spell-checker is available. Once a drug has been selected, a general summary is given, along with links to additional information.

Evidence-Based Pharmacy
Created by the Ebling Library for Health Sciences and the School of Pharmacy, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Evidence-Based Pharmacy is a series of video modules that demonstrate the application of EBM principles to clinical problems.  Self-paced practice scenarios, quizzes, and pre/post tests are included to assess your knowledge.

FDA: U.S. Food & Drug Administration
The FDA website provides current news, research, new drug approvals, drug alerts and statements, medication guides, drug safety information, drug recalls, and other drug information.

Glossary of Terms & Symbols Used in Pharmacology
A glossary of terms and symbols created by the Boston University School of Medicine.

Physicians Desk Reference (PDR)
Physicians Drug Reference online includes drug information, product labeling, package inserts, and drug alerts.

Pillbox
Pillbox helps to aid in the identification of solid dosage pharmaceuticals. It contains high-resolution images of tablets and capsules with information such as imprint, shape, color, etc.  From the National Library of Medicine.

STAT!Ref:  MedCalc 3000
MedCalc 3000 is a medical reference and tool set that includes unit and dose converters, equations and calculators, clinical criteria sets, decision tree analysis tools and other evidence based medicine information. Access it from the Tools menu in the left sidebar of the STAT!Ref website.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content