Paws Therapy Dog Program

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/paws. Please update your bookmarks.

About the Paws Program
Established in 2013 and offered 3-4 times annually, Paws brings therapy dog groups into the library to provide a relaxing experience for the UNTHSC community. As use of animal assisted therapy (AAT) increases, programs like Paws help prepare students and practitioners to encounter and integrate these groups into practice settings.

If you have questions about the program, please contact:

UNTHSC Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library
817.735.2070
Email AskALibrarian@unthsc.edu
LIB 222
Bibliography
See the Paws Program Bibliography for a list of therapy dog resources.
Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

PubMed Some full text available
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

Videos
This video provides an overview of the services Pet Partners provides and features several therapy teams throughout the country visiting different facilities.

Editors
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Brandy Klug
Web Services Librarian
(817) 735-5070