MPAS 5350 - Professional Issues for Medical Practice

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/mpas-5350. Please update your bookmarks.

Information Society and Technology
Emerging Technologies
Hype Cycle Special Report for 2014
Gartner Hype Cycle

Website Archive
The Wayback Machine

How Do Search Engines Process Searches?
BingItOn (Bing vs Google)
Clinical Technologies

Point of Care Tools

DynaMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on Mobile Access to DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis. 

Clinical Key Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

Isabel Restricted Resource
Isabel provides access to evidence-based content that can assist in determining or confirming a diagnosis.  Enter clinical features into Isabel and a list of likely diagnoses is presented.  Each diagnosis is linked to additional information from resources such as Dynamed, MEDLINE, and PubMed, to assist with further investigation, testing, and treatment.

Drug Information Tools

Lexicomp Restricted Resource
Lexicomp Online is a drug information system providing convenient access to concise drug overviews, drug interactions, lab tests, and diagnostic procedures.

Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.

Scholarly Publishing
Book Search
   
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content