Women's Health

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.   Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others.  CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937.   Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.

DynaMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
Information on Mobile Access to DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis. 

LactMed Some full text available
A part of the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs; possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation; and alternative drugs to consider.

Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.

PubMed Some full text available

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles. 

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

Selected Websites
BioMed Central Women's Health
BMC Women's Health is an open-access journal publishing original, peer-reviewed research articles in all aspects of the prevention, diagnosis and management of gynecological, fertility, and breast disorders, as well as related molecular genetics, pathophysiology, and epidemiology.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention -  Reproductive Health
CDC/Reproductive Health provides links to information on different aspects of reproductive health including statistics, adolescent reproductive health, infertility, maternal and infant health, unwanted pregnancy, and programs such as PRAMS and MCHEP. 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Women’s Health
The Office of Women's Health is sponsored by the CDC and the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.  Its mission is to promote and improve health, safety, and quality of life for women. Information offered includes statistics, publications, research, and national programs.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Women's Health FastStats
Provides quick access to statistics on women's health. Topics include population, health status, risk factors, insurance coverage, preventive care and mortality.

FDA Office of Women’s Health
The U.S. Food and Drug Administration's Office of Women's Health addresses gaps in current scientific knowledge, encourages new directions in research, and sets new standards of excellence in women's health.

Global Library of Women's Medicine
This site consists of 442 specialist chapters on women’s medicine, plus 53 supplementary chapters, authored by more than 650 expert contributors citing more than 40,000 references.

Maternal and Child Health Library
The MCH Library is a virtual guide that offers a combination of information compiled by library staff and pathways to the best MCH information available on other websites, from organizations, and in libraries. The MCH Library maintains this site to provide access to key MCH-related data and information.

National Cancer Institute - Women's Cancers
This award-winning federal website provides information about treatment, prevention, genetics, screening, clinical trials, literature, research, and statistics for cancers that occur mainly in women, as well as other cancers.

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
The NICHD, part of the National Institutes of Health, has an active and wide-ranging research portfolio in women's health. This site brings together a variety of information about women's health topics and ongoing research projects funded and carried out by the NICHD.

Office of Women's Health Quick Data Online
This system provides county-level data for all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and US territories and possessions. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and, to the extent possible, age.  Major categories include demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. 

World Health Organization - Women's Health
This page provides links to descriptions of activities, reports, news and events, as well as contacts and cooperating partners in the various WHO programs and offices working on women's health. Also shown are links to related websites and topics.

Women's Health USA
Published by the Health Resources and Services Administration, these studies look at emerging issues and trends in women's health, with a focus on racial and ethnic disparities. The publication collects current and historical data on some of the most pressing health challenges facing women, such as teen pregnancy, HIV/AIDS, and cancer, and serves as a concise reference for policymakers and program managers.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Kathy Broyles

Kathy Broyles
Reference Librarian
(817) 735-2591

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content