Exam Preparation - Practice Tests and Study Guides

General Information

The Student Doctor Network has an FAQ on preparing for the COMLEX, USMLE and other tests.

Databases
AccessMedicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.

LearningExpress Library Restricted Resource
The LearningExpress Library helps students prepare for admissions tests, including the MCAT and the PCAT, and for professional certification in healthcare or other fields.  More than 800 practice tests are provided online.  It also provides tutorials for popular computer software programs and other skill-building resources, as well as information about obtaining a Green Card or U.S. Citizenship.  NOTE:  The user name and password that you create for this database can also be used with the Job and Career Accelerator.

Exam Master
Exam Master OnLine™ is a computer-based system designed to provide realistic and effective preparation for medical board exams such as USMLE and PANCE.  It provides test and study modes, detailed explanations with every question, detailed scoring feedback, and an easy-to-use interface. The following medical subjects are covered: anatomy, biochemistry, histology, microbiology, physiology, pathology, psychiatry, and internal and clinical medicine. It provides thousands of multiple choice questions, both on the body/organ system and medical subject review. Free access is provided by Lewis Library to UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members, but you must register online to use the product.
Free Practice Tests & Study Guides
Certified in Public Health: CPH Study Guide
This link will bring you to library catalog record for the CPH Study Guide. Once there, click on the "Online Access" button to connect to the study guide. 

NBPHE CPH Exam Study Resources
This page of CPH study resources includes links to example practice questions, upcoming study session webinars, and information about the test format. 

The following links offer access to practice tests, preparation questions, and other information for the USMLE:
Medical review apps:
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.

  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 

  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Jack Boettcher

Jack Boettcher
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2388

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content