Statistics for Selected Topics

Highly Recommended

CDC FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.

Accidents, Injuries & Violence
Books & Media in Lewis Library 
Accidents
Injuries
Violence
 

Injury, Illness & Hazards Data & Information from NIOSH
Provided by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.  Topics covered include adult blood lead epidemiology and surveillance, mining data and statistics, pesticide injury and illness,respiratory disease, and traumatic injury.

National Center for Statistics & Analysis - National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
Latest statistical releases from the NCSA. Topics include seat belt use, traffic safety facts annual report, alcohol-related fatalities by state, motorcycle helmet use, and large-truck crashes.

Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System (WISQARS)
WISQARS is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data. Reports generated include fatal injury reports, leading causes of death reports, years of potential life lost, nonfatal injury reports, and leading causes of nonfatal injury reports.

Workplace Injury, Illness and Fatality Statistics
Information provided by the US Department of Labor.  

Cancer
Books & Media in Lewis Library

American Cancer Society
The ACS tracks cancer occurrence, including the number of deaths, cases, and how long people survive after diagnosis. ACS also tracks data regarding behaviors that influence the risk of developing cancer and the use of screening tests. Statistics are given for years 1997 to present. Cancer data by state is also included.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Cancer Statistics
The National Program of Cancer Registries (NPCR) compiles and presents the data collected by state cancer registries.

Imaginis - The Breast Cancer Resource
National, state and worldwide statistics on cases, deaths, incidence by age, ethnic group, staging & survival rates, and mammography.

National Cancer Institute - Statistics Home Page
Listing of reports and where to find cancer statistics. Also links to the Dictionary of Cancer Terms and the NCI Drug Dictionary.

SEER Finding Cancer Statistics
Interactive website from the National Cancer Institute. It includes fact sheets, "fast stats," annual reports and monographs, and statistics by state and county.

State Cancer Profiles
State cancer profiles from the National Cancer Institute. This is an interactive site that covers rate and trend comparisons, death rates, incidence rates, changes and historical trends, and screening and risk factors.

Texas Cancer Registry
A source of fact sheets on cancer in the state of Texas.
Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
Books & Media in Lewis Library
Cardiovascular Disease
Stroke

American Heart Association
Statistics from the AHA. Topics cover the most recent updates and fact sheets on stroke and heart disease.

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute
Statistics from the NHLBI on death rates, prevalence and economic costs of cardiovascular disease.
Diabetes
Books & Media in Lewis Library

American Diabetes Association - Diabetes Statistics
Statistics from the American Diabetes Association on the prevalence, complications, death rate, economic cost, and national and global fact sheets on diabetes.

Diabetes Successes and Opportunities for Population-Based Prevention and Control: At A Glance 2010
Document from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention outlining the rise of diabetes in America.

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion - Diabetes Data & Trends

Diabetes statistics from the CDC Diabetes Surveillance System. Topics include prevalence, preventive care, cardiovascular disease among people with diabetes, diabetic ketoacidosis, duration of disease, end-stage renal disease, health status and disability, hospitalization, incidence of diabetes, medication use, and risk factors.

National Diabetes Information Clearinghouse - Diabetes Across the U.S. and in Select Populations
Statistics from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), part of the National Institutes of Health. Topics covered include prevalence by age and race, death rates and economic costs.

World Health Organization - Diabetes Mellitus
A discussion of diabetes world-wide. Fact sheets are included.

Influenza
Books & Media in Lewis Library

Flu Activity: Reports & Surveillance Methods in the United States
Statistics from the CDC on flu activity in the United States. Weekly surveillance reports are included for the past 12 months and a yearly summary for 1999-2010.

FluNet
FluNet is the web-based data collection and reporting tool of the Global Influenza Surveillance Network (GISN). FluNet includes virological influenza information since 1995 from countries worldwide, provided by National Influenza Centres and other national influenza reference laboratories collaborating actively with GISN. Whereas data entry is restricted and data entry is access password-protected, data reports including tables, maps and graphs are available to all public users.

Texas Department of Health and Human Services - Surveillance - Influenza
Statistics for influenza in Texas from 1999-2010.
Kidney Disease
Books & Media in Lewis Library

National Kidney and Urologic Diseases Information Clearinghouse
Statistics on kidney, urologic, and other related problems. These statistics include prevalence, incidence, mortality and economic costs.

United States Renal Data System

The United States Renal Data System (USRDS) is a national data system that collects, analyzes, and distributes information about end-stage renal disease (ESRD) in the United States.

Lung Disease
Books & Media in Lewis Library

American Lung Association Epidemiology & Statistics
Topics include Asthma, COPD, Lung Cancer, Pneumonia, Tuberculosis and Tobacco Use.

NIOSH Occupational Respiratory Disease Surveillance
Includes surveillance reports on various occupation-related lung diseases. Asbestosis and coal exposure, mesothelioma, pneumonitis, asthma, COPD, and other illnesses are covered. Industries represented include agriculture, construction, healthcare, manufacturing, mining and transportation.  From the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.
Obesity
Books & Media in Lewis Library

American Heart Association Overweight & Obesity Statistics
Fact sheet on obesity from the American Heart Association. Topics include age, sex and race.

Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
Statistics on obesity in African Americans, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Hispanic populations.

Overweight & Obesity - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
Topics include trends, prevalence, race and age.  Data are provided by state and by county.

WIN: Weight-Control Information Network
From the National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases. Topics include prevalence, economic costs and other related statistics.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Kathy Broyles

Kathy Broyles
Reference Librarian
(817) 735-2591

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content