Statistics by Geographic Region

Statistics - City, County, State or National
CDC State Health Departments
This MMWR site provides links to all state health departments.

Charting Health Information for Texas

A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information.

County Health Rankings
From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, County Health Rankings includes motality, morbidity, health behaviors, critical care, social & economic factors, and physical environment for every county in the US.

Guttmacher Institute
Topics include reproductive health, contraception, abortion, teen pregnancy and state policies.

HCUPnet
Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpaitent and emergency department utilization. Can be accessed by national or state levels.

Healthy North Texas
Healthy North Texas is a web-based source of community health and population data from the DFWHC Foundation.

Kids Inpatient Database

Charts hospital inpatient stays for patients younger than 21 years of age.

Partners in Health Information Access for the Public Health Workforce Health Data Tools & Statistics
A portal to over 50 web sites health statistics and data sets.

Rand Texas Statistics
Texas statisticis available for business, economics, community, education, energy, environment, government, health, socioeconomic, population, and demographics.

State Health Facts Online

Data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing and legislation. State comparison health data is also available.

State Snapshots
The State Snapshots provide State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State. From the US Department of Health & Human Services Agency for Healthcare
Research & Quality.

Tarrant County Public Health
Statistics on a variety of chronic diseases for the Tarrant County area. If statistics you are looking for are not found here, call the health department. Often they will be able to supply the statistics you need. 

USDA State Fact Sheets
State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
Statistics - International
Global Health Facts
From the Kaiser Family Foundation, Global Health Facts is an online gateway for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health. 

Global School-Based Student Health Survey
Survey includes data on a number of topics, including dietary behaviors, injuries and violence, physical activity, mental health, tobacco use, and hygiene. 

Partners in Health Information Access for the Public Health Workforce Health Data Tools & Statistics

A portal to over 50 web sites health statistics and data sets.

World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The most recent statistics from the World Health Organization's 192 member states. Topics include core health indicators, mortality and health status, disease statistics, health systems, risk factors and health service coverages, and inequities in health.

World Health Organization Global Infobase
The WHO Global InfoBase is a data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO member states.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Kathy Broyles

Kathy Broyles
Reference Librarian
(817) 735-2591

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content