Social & Behavioral Sciences

Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

American Psychiatric Association Practice Guildelines
(APA) practice guidelines provide evidence-based recommendations for the assessment and treatment of psychiatric disorders

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) Restricted Resource
Health and Psychosocial Instruments(HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.

IN-CAM Outcomes Database
The Outcomes Database from the IN-CAM research network provides information about a variety of outcomes measures, including many social sciences scales, questionnaires, and other research instruments, including how to get full copies of these instruments. 

Measurement Instrument Database for the Social Sciences
The MIDSS is a free database collecting various research instruments -- surveys, scales, and questionnaires -- in the social sciences. The site collects over 500 instruments in a variety of areas. 

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Restricted Resource Some full text available

This database combines two well-known reference works, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY)  and Tests in Print (TIP), both produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.  Together, they provide information about more than 2,700 testing instruments published in the English language.  TIP is a comprehensive bibliography of commercially available tests that are currently in print. It lists brief facts such as purpose, publisher, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). The MMY adds more than 7,000 expert reviews to guide selection and evaluation.  Coverage is from the 9th edition (1985) to the present.



National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.  Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations.  Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

PILOTS
PILOTS stands for: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress. This database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Unlike other databases, PILOTS does not restrict its coverage to articles appearing in selected journals. It attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress, whatever their origin without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations.

PsycARTICLES Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES contains more than 150,000 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group (view a list of the journals).  Coverage is from 1894 to the present, and the database is updated weekly.  PsycARTICLES can be searched separately or in combination with PsycINFO. 

PsycBITE
PsycBITE (Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy) was developed to help clinicians quickly identify, evaluate, and implement evidence-based interventions for psychological issues experienced by people with acquired brain impairment.  It indexes systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single participant designs.  These studies are rated for the quality of their methodology.  PsycBITE contains 3,100 citations, some with abstracts, but no full-text articles. 

PsychiatryOnline Restricted Resource Some full text available

PsychiatryOnline brings together a variety of important resources from the American Psychiatric Association. These include the DSM-5; APA practice guidelines; journals, including The American Journal of Psychiatry; textbooks; case studies; patient education materials; self-assessment tools for board certification study and review; and clinical and research news.  Most pages are automatically optimized when viewed with a mobile device.



Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Provides 550 full-text publications, including more than 400 that are also indexed by PsycINFO.  Almost all are peer-reviewed. This database covers subjects such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, observational and experimental methods, mental processes, and anthropology. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection, dating back to the 1940s.

PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest index and abstract database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences, containing 2.8 million citations and summaries. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, law, social work, and education. More than 1,800 journals are indexed, as well as selected book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. More than 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.  Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association. 

Social Sciences Citation Index Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides full indexing of more than 2,600 journals in 50 social science disciplines, as well as selective indexing of items from 3,500 leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1900 to the present, and all cited references are searchable within the database. SSCI is a component of the larger Web of Science database, which has advanced research features such as citation reports and mapping, analysis tools, and citation alerts.
Selected Websites
Asian American Health
Also from the National Library of Medicine, this site provides information on Asian populations, diseases, alternative medicine, and includes patient education materials in various languages.

DisabilityInfo.gov
This website contains disability-related resources on programs, services, laws and regulations. It includes information on a variety of topics, including benefits, civil rights, community life, education, emergency preparedness, employment, housing, health, technology and transportation.

Health Communication Materials
A media and materials clearinghouse from Johns Hopkins University. The site highlights samples of public health promotional materials from around the world.

National Health Care for the Homeless Council

This website includes news, fact sheets, links to health and housing resources and more.

National Center for PTSD
Contains training materials as well as information and tools to help you with assessment and treatment. These materials are based on the latest research, much of which is conducted by National Center staff

National Institute on Drug Abuse

Information on drugs of abuse, clinical trials, crime, drug abuse treatment, prevention research, and more can be found on this site.

Racial & Ethnic Populations
This CDC website contains information and reports on several of the major United States minority and ethnic groups.

PubMed Health
Specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports

SAMHSA- Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration
This website has a plethora of material, including statistics, publications, news, grants, and more.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Jack Boettcher

Jack Boettcher
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2388

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content