Rural Health

Databases
AGRICOLA Some full text available
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature, produced by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Its 4.7 million records cover materials dating from the 16th century to the present.  They encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.  

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.  Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations.  Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

PubMed Some full text available
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
Selected Websites
American Psychological Association, Committee on Rural Health
The American Psychological Association has identified rural health as a priority and has developed the Committee on Rural Health. The objective of the APA Rural Health Initiative is to ensure that the behavioral healthcare needs of rural and frontier Americans are met.

National Agricultural Library 
The National Agricultural Library is one of four national libraries of the United States, with locations in Beltsville, Maryland and Washington, D.C. It houses one of the world's largest and most accessible agricultural information collections and serves as the nexus for a national network of state land-grant and U.S. Department of Agriculture field libraries.
 
The National Center for Farmworker Health (NCFH) is a private, not-for-profit corporation located in Buda, Texas dedicated to improving the health status of farmworker families by providing information services, training and technical assistance, and a variety of products to community and migrant health centers nationwide, as well as organizations, universities, researchers, and individuals involved in farmworker health.
 
 Established in 1981 in response to occupational health problems seen in farm patients coming to Marshfield Clinic, the NFMC focuses on evolving issues in agricultural health and safety. NFMC goals for the future include expansion of its competency in infectious disease research and rural and agricultural health and safety, as well as becoming an excellent resource for professional training in agromedicine and agriculture-related research.
 
The National Rural Recruitment and Retention Network (3RNet) is made up of organizations such as State Offices of Rural Health, AHECs, Cooperative Agreement Agencies and State Primary Care Associations. These not-for-profit organizations help health professionals locate practice sites in rural and underserved areas throughout the country.
 
A product of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Rural Initiative, the Rural Assistance Center (RAC) was established as a rural health and human services "information portal." RAC helps rural communities and other rural stakeholders access the full range of available programs, funding, and research that can enable them to provide quality health and human services to rural residents. 
The Rural Health Care Program of the Universal Service Fund (USF), which is administered by the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC), is a support program authorized by Congress and designed by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) to provide reduced rates to rural health care providers (HCPs) for telecommunications services and Internet access charges related to the use of telemedicine & tele-health.
Rural Health Policy & Health Disparities
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Rural Health Center
The Rural Health Clinic Program was established in 1977 to address an inadequate supply of physicians who serve Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries in rural areas. The program provides qualifying clinics located in rural and medically underserved communities with payment on a cost-related basis for outpatient physician and certain non-physician services. The website provides dozens of links to resources for enrollment, policies, education, publications, and other organizations.
 
Started in 1987, this National Advisory Committee makes recommendations to the Secretary of Health and Human Services on issues regarding the health care problems in rural America. The site contains publications, meeting information and helpful links.
 
Part of the National Institutes of Health, the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) conducts and supports research initiatives focusing on eliminating health disparities.  This site contains sections on news, research, events, conferences, and programs.
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, part of the Centers for Disease Control,  conducts research and makes recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness.
 
Rural Health Policy
The Office of Rural Health Policy promotes better health care service in rural America. Congress charged the Office with informing and advising the Department of Health and Human Services on matters affecting rural hospitals, and health care, co-ordinating activities within the department that relate to rural health care, and maintaining a national information clearinghouse.
 
Rural Policy Research Institute 
The Rural Policy Research Institute provides unbiased analysis and information on the challenges, needs and opportunities facing rural America. The institute aims to spur public dialogue and help policymakers understand how rural areas are impacted by policies.
Texas Rural Health Resources
Area Health Education Centers in Texas:
East Texas 
South Texas 
West Texas
Area Health Education Centers (AHECs) are academic and community partnerships striving to improve the supply, distribution, diversity and quality of the health care workforce, ultimately increasing access to healthcare in medically underserved areas.
 
Texas Department of Agriculture
The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) is a state agency established by the Texas Legislature in 1907. The mission statement of the Texas Department of Agriculture is: Making Texas the nation's leader in agriculture, while promoting excellence in children's nutrition, rural economic development and providing efficient and extraordinary service.
 
Texas Department of State Health Services
The Department of State Health Services promotes health for individuals and communities while providing health, mental health and substance abuse services to Texans.
 
Texas Health and Human Services Commission
The Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) oversees the operations of the health and human services system, provides administrative oversight of Texas health and human services programs, and provides direct administration of some programs.
 
Texas Health Match
Texas Health Match is a statewide collaborative effort, between the Texas Area Health Education Center (AHEC) and the Office of Rural Community Affairs to assist rural and medically underserved communities recruit and retain healthcare providers, healthcare related professionals, and health industry skilled workers.
 
Texas Organization of Rural & Community Hospitals 
The Texas Organization of Rural & Community Hospitals is the leading advocate and resource for member hospitals. TORCH is the only hospital association in Texas dedicated to the needs of rural and community hospitals.
 
Texas Osteopathic Medical Association
The Mission of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association is to promote health care excellence for the people of Texas; advance the philosophy and principles of osteopathic medicine; and to loyally embrace the family of the osteopathic profession and serve their unique needs.
 
Texas Rural Health Association
The Texas Rural Health Association is a nonprofit organization whose primary goal is to improve the health of rural Texans. The TRHA is composed of individuals and organizations dedicated to providing leadership on rural health care issues through advocacy, communication, and education.
 
This site contains resources such as common OMM codes, practice management tutorials, upcoming classes and other events.
 
Rural Health Data & Surveys
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
The CDC’s BRFSS tracks individual health behaviors, such as smoking, alcohol use, sexual activity, exercise, receipt of screenings, and medication use. Data are collected each year and are available at the national and state levels as far back as 1984.

CDC Wonder
Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) provides a single point of access to the vast range of data offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes reports and quantitative data on chronic diseases, health practice and prevention, communicable diseases, injuries, occupational health, environmental health, and reference data.

Community Health Status Indicators
The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health. The CHSI report contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties.

County Health Rankings
This collection of 50 reports – one per state – helps community leaders see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop these Rankings for each state’s counties.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
The DRC includes more than 100 standardized indicators from the two extensive state-based surveys on health and health care of children, youth, and families from The National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). It is searchable by age, race/ethnicity, income, health status, and state.

Healthy People 2020
Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For three decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: encourage collaborations across communities and sectors; empower individuals toward make informed health decisions; and measure the impact of prevention activities.

Kids Count Data Center
State-level and community-level data on numerous measures of child health and well-being.  In addition to the raw data, rankings, maps, and graphing tools are available.  Provided by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, which seeks to foster public policies, human-service reforms, and community supports that more effectively meet the needs of today’s vulnerable children and families.

National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's principal health statistics agency. NCHS has two major types of data systems: systems based on populations, containing data collected through personal interviews or examinations; and systems based on records, containing data collected from vital and medical records. The website contains questionnaires, data sets, results, and other related information.

National Cancer Institute: SEER Public-Use Data
The Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Result (SEER) Public-Use Data is the nation’s major tool for surveillance of cancer incidence, prevalence, and mortality. Data sets are available from 1973 to 2009.

Rural Healthy People 2010
Healthy People 2010: A Companion Document for Rural Areas includes literature reviews and models for practice for rural health priorities.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Myriam Martinez-Banuelos
Outreach Librarian / Bibliotecaria de Enlace Comunitario
(817) 735-2469
Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content