Scopus
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide. In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records. In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages. It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States. A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users. The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly. Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to articles from high-quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.
ACP Journal Club
Provides full-text reviews of original studies and systematic reviews which are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Selected from more than 100 clinical journals, articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. ACP Journal Club is searchable back to 2002 on EBSCOhost; if you need to search contents going back to 1991, access ACP Journal Club through the Stat!Ref database.
Comprehensive website from the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Includes evidence-based practice reports, guidelines and research.
Bandolier
Distills information from published reviews of clinical trials. Offers advice about treatments and diseases for both medical professionals and consumers. Produced by a pain research group affiliated with Oxford University.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
From Oxford, this site promotes learning, practicing and teaching evidence-based medicine. It outlines the levels of evidence. A glossary is available as well as descriptions of study designs. Several downloads are available.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
Promoting the use of research-based knowledge, CRD is part of the University of York, England. This site includes databases, training materials, and an extensive list of evidence-based medicine websites.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
The online version of the AMA Manual of Style contains both browsing and searching options. Users can save annotations, favorite chapters, and commonly used searches.
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. Use RefWorks to store and manage your citations, create in-text citations as you write your paper, and generate bibliographies in different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library. To use RefWorks you must first set up a free user account.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
Manual of Scientific Style
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
- From research to manuscript: a guide to scientific writing
Michael Jay Katz - Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences
Janice R. Mathews and Robert W. Matthews - Scientific writing: easy when you know how
Jennifer Peat, et al - The craft of scientific writing
Michael Alley - The manual of scientific style: a guide for authors, editors, and researchers
Edited by Harold Rabinowitz and Suzanne Vogel
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.