Plagiarism

Highly Recommended
plagiarism.org
This website covers a wide range of plagiarism issues and includes an FAQ page, a glossary, and free handouts, as well as articles on preventing plagiarism, paraphrasing properly, and how to cite sources.
Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

ERIC Restricted Resource Some full text available
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online digital library of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. It provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials such as books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education materials.  Journal indexing covers 1966 to the present, and the database is updated weekly.

WorldCat Restricted Resource

A union catalog of library holdings in all formats, containing more than 100 million records from libraries throughout the U.S. and around the world. Updated daily. Researchers routinely use WorldCat to identify items not owned by their local libraries and to check references for accuracy.  UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff may request items not owned by Lewis Library using WorldCat's integrated interlibrary loan request form. To quickly find out if an item is available locally, or to search WorldCat from your mobile device, try the freely available version at www.worldcat.org.

Books & Media
Hacker, D. (2003). A writer's reference. Boston: Bedford/St. Martin's.  

Lipson, C. (2004). Doing honest work in college: How to prepare citations, avoid plagiarism, and achieve real academic success. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
Selected Websites

Definitions:


plagiarism.org - Types of Plagiarism
Describes 11 different types of plagiarism, including subtle ones where the source is cited but still plagiarized.

What is Plagiarism?
Definition of plagiarism and a glossary of terms often used when discussing plagiarism. From Simon Fraser University Library, British Columbia, Canada.

Recognizing and Avoiding Plagiarism:


Avoiding Plagiarism - Duke University Libraries 
This website by the Duke University Libraries describes the warning signs of plagiarism, explains what to cite and how to cite, and provides examples of quotations, paraphrasing, and summarizing. 

Defining and Avoiding Plagiarism: The WPA Statement on Best Practices
The Council of Writing Program Administrators describes the causes of plagiarism and suggests how instructors can set policies, design assignments, and work with students to prevent it.

How to Recognize Plagiarism
A tutorial produced by the School of Education at Indiana University.  Includes samples of various types of plagiarism, along with an explanation and a corrected version for each.  Use the test section to check your understanding.

Purdue OWL: Avoiding Plagiarism
This tutorial is one component of the Online Writing Lab provided by Purdue University.  Provides a page of exercises and addresses best practices for instructors.   

The Writer's Handbook: Avoiding Plagiarism
This resource from The Writing Center at The University of Wisconsin - Madison has a special section with information on how students can avoid plagiarism.

For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor

Brandy Klug
Web Services Librarian
(817) 735-5070

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content