MPAS 5201 Master's Project

Style Manuals and Citation Tools
A style manual or guide illustrates the accepted format for citing your references in term papers, theses, articles, etc.

APA Style FAQs 
From the publishers of the APA Style Manual to help clarify frequent areas of confusion.

RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. Use RefWorks to store and manage your citations, create in-text citations as you write your paper, and generate bibliographies in different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library. To use RefWorks you must first set up a free user account.
Databases

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.   Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others.  CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937.   Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.
For hints on searching osteopathic literature in CINAHL, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.

Cochrane Library Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]

PsycINFO Restricted Resource Some full text available
The largest index and abstract database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences, containing 2.8 million citations and summaries. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, law, social work, and education. More than 1,800 journals are indexed, as well as selected book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. More than 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.  Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association. 

PubMed Some full text available

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice) Some full text available

Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to articles from high-quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.


Web of Knowledge Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines searching of three major databases:  Web of Science, Current Contents Connection, and BIOSIS Previews. Web of Science allows the user to access scholarly literature in the sciences and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, workshops, and conventions. Current Contents Connect includes bibliographic information from scholarly journals and books, and also includes relevant, evaluated websites and documents. BIOSIS Previews includes bibliographic information from life sciences and biomedical research, methods and instrumentation, and animal studies.

Selected Websites

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Comprehensive website from the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Includes evidence-based practice reports, guidelines and research.

Bandolier
Distills information from published reviews of clinical trials.  Offers advice about treatments and diseases for both medical professionals and consumers.  Produced by a pain research group affiliated with Oxford University.

Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
From Oxford, this site promotes learning, practicing and teaching evidence-based medicine.  It outlines the levels of evidence.  A glossary is available as well as descriptions of study designs.  Several downloads are available.

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
Promoting the use of research-based knowledge, CRD is part of the University of York, England.  This site includes databases, training materials, and an extensive list of evidence-based medicine websites.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.  Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations.  Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.

Roadmap to better writing
Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants

For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content