Osteopathic Medicine

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/osteopathic-medicine. Please update your bookmarks.

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

Andrew Taylor Still Papers
Links to Dr. Still's essays, letters, book drafts, and other writings. Also included are letters to Dr. Still, military records, and other personal items. From the A.T. Still Museum in Kirksville, Missouri.

CINAHL Restricted Resource Some full text available
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.   Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others.  CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937.   Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.
For hints on searching osteopathic literature in CINAHL, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.

Early Journals & Osteopathic Books from the A.T. Still University Museum
A collection of several full text journals and books including the "Journal of Osteopathy" 1894-1910 and the "Osteopathic Physician" 1898-1913.

MANTIS Restricted Resource
The MANTIS (Manual Alternative and Natural Therapy Index System) database is the largest index of osteopathic, chiropractic, and manual medical literature in the world. With coverage from 1900 to present, MANTIS contains more than 280,000 records, with more than 3,500 added annually.  MANTIS uses standard Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).  In addition, a supplemental thesaurus has been developed that permits more precise indexing of alternative medical material.  Approximately 70% of the references include abstracts.
For hints on searching osteopathic literature in MANTIS, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.

PubMed Some full text available

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
For hints on searching osteopathic literature in MEDLINE, see the Osteopathic Search Strategy page.

Osteopathic Research Web
International database of osteopathic dissertations and theses.

OSTMED.DR Some full text available
OSTMED.DR is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine and VTLS, Inc. OSTMED.DR builds upon OSTMED, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine, by providing access to more than 30,000 citations. OSTMED.DR aims to provide ready access to both the current osteopathic literature and to historical documents. Please note that full-text access is currently no longer available in OSTMED.DR.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 
For hints on searching osteopathic literature in Scopus, see the Osteopathic Medicine Search Strategy page.

UNTHSC Dissertations & Theses Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contains bibliographic records for more than 500 dissertations and theses authored by UNTHSC students since 1994. The full text is provided online for most of them, and copies in other formats can be ordered directly from the database. Dissertations and theses can be browsed by subject or searched by title, author, or keywords. The Advanced Search adds more options, including department, degree, advisor, and committee member. E-mail alerts and RSS feeds can be enabled to notify users when new papers are added.

Journals
Chiropractic & Manual Therapies
Full-text online journal published by the Chiropractic & Osteopathic College of Australasia.

The DO 
Official newsletter and online journal of the American Osteopathic Association.

Journal of the American Osteopathic College of Dermatology
Full-text online journal.

Osteopathic Family Physician
Full-text online journal.

Osteopathic Medicine & Primary Care

An online journal published by Bio-Med Central. 

Osteopathic Medicine Journals in Lewis Library
Includes links to the Journal of the American Osteopathic Association and the Osteopathic Family Physician, among others. 
Selected Websites
AACOM Medical Education Fast Facts 
Includes an information booklet; annual statistical report on osteopathic medical education; annual report on debt, career plans and options for osteopathic students; integrated learning scenarios; and the annual AACOM update.

Authorized Osteopathic Thesaurus
Thesaurus of osteopathic medical terminology prepared by the Education Council on Osteopathic Principles and the Thesaurus Committee at the Gibson D. Lewis Health Sciences Library at UNTHSC.

Cranial Academy
Academy established in 1947 by the students of William G. Sutherland, D.O., founder of cranial osteopathy.

Still National Osteopathic Museum
Information and exhibits from the museum in Kirksville, Missouri.

UNTHSC Osteopathic Research Center
News, events, and research happening here at the Health Science Center. 
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content