BACH 6315 - Obesity Prevention: A Biopsychosocial Approach

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/bach-6315. Please update your bookmarks.

Databases
Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.  Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database.  More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. 

Natural Standard Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Some full text available
Natural Standard provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including diets and dietary supplements, functional foods, exercises, and complementary practices.  Evidence is systematically collected, peer-reviewed, and then summarized in monographs, which are updated every 3-18 months depending on the topic.  Evidence grades are provided for common and studied uses.  The Natural Standard site offers continuing education for healthcare providers, as well as tools such as comparison charts, interaction checkers, calculators, a dictionary, and RSS feeds.

Rand Texas Statistics Restricted Resource Some full text available
This extensive collection of Texas statistics provides fast and easy access to data gathered from more than 100 databases.  It is organized into 7 categories:  Health & Socioeconomic, Population & Demographics, Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, and Government Finance.  Output options include a tab-delimited file or a graph.  Produced by the nonprofit Rand Corporation.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

TRoPHI
The Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions covers trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. It includes references to more than 4,500 trials and is updated quarterly. While it does not contain full text, its specialized indexing enables searching on aspects such as country, health problem, population characteristics, or type of professional conducting the intervention. Along with the companion DoPHER database, TRoPHI is produced by The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre at the University of London.

Selected Websites
American Heart Association Overweight & Obesity Statistics
Fact sheet on obesity from the American Heart Association. Topics include age, sex and race.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) - Overweight and Obesity

The CDC's primary obesity site includes general information on obesity prevention, data and statistics, and information about state and community-level obesity prevention programs.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Fast Stats
The Center for Disease Control (CDC) Fast Stats site provides access to statistics on public health topics.

Obesity Society Online Resources
This site represents the public health educational efforts of the Obesity Society, publisher of the journal Obesity. The site contains obesity fact sheets and statistics, as well as links to research centers and nutrition information.

Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services

The OMH site contains obesity data and statistics on African Americans, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Hispanic populations.

Tarrant County Public Health - Obesity Prevention Policy Council
The Tarrant County Public Health site provides information on county obesity prevention efforts, as well as marketing and collateral materials.

Texas Department of State Health Services - Obesity Prevention
This is the home page for the Texas Department of State Health Services' obesity prevention efforts. The resources page includes links to facts, data, and reports on obesity in Texas.

WIN: Weight-Control Information Network
The WIN site is an information service from the National Institute of Diabetes, Digestive and Kidney Diseases. The site contains overweight and obesity statistics, research, and other related resources.

World Health Organization (WHO) - Obesity
The World Health Organization site contains statistical data, publications, and general information on obesity.

World Health Organization (WHO) Fact Sheets

The World Health Organization site contains an extensive list of health conditions, environmental health states, and public health topics.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Lisa Smith

Lisa Smith
Deputy Director
(817) 735-2601

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content