PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide. In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records. In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages. It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States. A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users. The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly. Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Scopus
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide. In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records. In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages. It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States. A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users. The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices.
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings. Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly. Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to articles from high-quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.
Catalog subject search for Family Practice
A style manual or guide illustrates the accepted format for citing your references in term papers, theses, articles, etc.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
The online version of the AMA Manual of Style contains both browsing and searching options. Users can save annotations, favorite chapters, and commonly used searches.
AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
The online version of the AMA Manual of Style contains both browsing and searching options. Users can save annotations, favorite chapters, and commonly used searches.
Citing Medicine, 2nd ed., 2007-
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. Use RefWorks to store and manage your citations, create in-text citations as you write your paper, and generate bibliographies in different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library. To use RefWorks you must first set up a free user account.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
Manual of Scientific Style
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. Use RefWorks to store and manage your citations, create in-text citations as you write your paper, and generate bibliographies in different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library. To use RefWorks you must first set up a free user account.
How to Report Statistics in Medicine
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
Manual of Scientific Style
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.
- Catalog subject search for Scientific Writing
- Catalog search for Literature Review Guides
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.