Mobile Health

News & Reviews

Fierce Mobile Healthcare
FierceMobileHealthcare provides must-know news, market trends, and insights about implementing wireless solutions and mobile technologies in the healthcare industry.
 
iMedicalApps.com

iMedicalApps is an independent online medical publication written by a team of physicians and medical students who provide commentary and reviews of mobile medical technology and applications. The site reviews the latest apps for handheld and tablet mobile devices, and provides a “Top 10” section that rates the best apps, both free and subscription-based, for each device.
 
MobiHealthNews chronicles the healthcare sector’s adoption of mobile technology, offering a combination of breaking news, exclusive interviews, live event coverage and industry commentary to its growing readership of hospital administrators, healthcare service providers, physicians, nurses and the industry players designing, developing and deploying the wireless services that are transforming healthcare today.
 
TechCrunch is a leading technology media property, dedicated to obsessively profiling startups, reviewing new Internet products, and breaking tech news. Of particular interest to mobile device consumers are the sections devoted to Android and Apple products.
Mobile Health Applications

DynaMed Restricted Resource Some full text available
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis. 

Epocrates
Epocrates is a premium drug and disease reference that provides reliable clinical information at the point of care. Available for iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch, Blackberry, Palm, and Windows Mobile phones, Epocrates offers both free and paid versions of its software.

Epocrates Rx includes monographs for more than 3,500 drugs and is updated at least once a week. Free download.

Epocrates Essentials
offers the drug monographs found in Rx as well as the most critical disease and diagnostic information needed for patient care, organized in one easy-to-use, intelligently linked product. Includes a multisystem check for drug interactions, disease monographs, Pill ID photos, and dozens of tables and calculators. $159/year.

Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.
 
PubMed On Tap is an application for your iPhone, iPod Touch, and iPad that lets you search PubMed while on the go. Offers advanced search (with AND, OR and NOT logic operators), full text options, as well as e-mail and import capability. $2.99 one-time download.
 
Skyscape Clinical Constellation is a fully integrated mobile medical reference tool for Apple, Android, Blackberry, Nokia, Symbian, or Palm devices that partners with 50 leading medical publishers, associations and experts in a variety of fields to provide users with up-to-date drug information (including interactions and formulary), clinical content (5-Minute Clinical Consult, Mobile DDx, and ABC's of Interpretive Laboratory Data), and other useful tools including a premium medical calculator, CME, MedAlerts, Medline, LS360, AHA and ACC Guidelines.

TCOM/UNTHSC users are encouraged to take advantage of the school’s institutional subscription of $99/year, a savings of over $200 off the software’s base price. Click on the above link to learn more. For a list of free products from SkyScape, visit this site: http://www.skyscape.com/estore/store.aspx?Category=35
Mobile Medical Reference
A service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), AIDSInfo offers the latest federally approved information on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment and prevention, and medical practice guidelines for people living with HIV/AIDS, their families and friends, health care providers, scientists, and researchers.
 
An authoritative, on-the-spot referencing tool, containing more than a thousand differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom, or organ system. Available for Apple iPhone, Palm OS, Windows Mobile and Blackberry mobile devices. iPhone App is a $0.99 one-time download; others are free.

First Aid by American Red Cross
This application provides information on first aid and emergency response including videos, quizzes, and step-by-step instructions.  The First Aid app is available for both iPhone and Android devices.
 
A fully searchable database of over 1,600 acronyms, rhymes, and memory tricks, which can be filtered by discipline or by system.  Your own mnemonics can be added to the database and you can share any of them via e-mail.  Available for several popular mobile platforms for $1.99.

An easy-to-use online tool to help estimate the body fat content or body mass index (BMI) of an adult. Available for Apple iPhone, Palm OS and Pocket PC mobile devices. Free.
 
Database of more than 1,600 common and obscure medical eponyms aimed to provide medical students, nursing students, and primary healthcare providers with concise and accurate descriptions. Available for Apple iPhone, Palm OS, webOS, Windows Mobile, Pocket PC and Blackberry mobile devices. Free.

Mobile website version of MedlinePlus, produced by the National Library of Medicine, providing information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easily understandable language. The mobile website is organized by Health Topics, Drugs, Dictionary, and Current Health News. Free.
 
A collection of guidelines on various topics from the National Guideline Clearinghouse website. Available for Apple iPhone, Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Pocket PC and Blackberry mobile devices. Free.

National Library of Medicine (NLM) Mobile
This site provides information to many popular, authoritative medical research resources available for mobile devices from the NLM including Drug Information Portal, HazMap, and LactMed.  Information is also included for PubMed and MedlinePlus mobile.
 
A search engine that returns PDFs of PubMed articles in the search results, instead of plain text. 
 
Browse the childhood, adolescent, catch-up, adult, and medical immunization schedules for the United States for 2010. Important information is available for each vaccine, including: basics, high risk indications, adverse reactions, contraindications, catch-up, administration, epidemiology, and brand names. Available for Apple iPhone, Android, Palm OS, Windows Mobile, Pocket PC and Blackberry mobile devices. Free. Also available as Skyscape Software version for $9.95.

WISER for Handhelds
Developed by the National Library of Medicine, WISER (Wireless Information System for Early Responders) is a system designed to assist First Responders in hazardous material incidents. It provides a wide range of information on hazardous substances, including substance identification support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression guidance. Available for Apple, Android, PalmOS, Windows Mobile, Pocket PC, and Blackberry devices. Free.
 
Productivity Apps
Dropbox is a cross-platform file-syncing service that, once downloaded to a user’s PC/Mac desktop, can be used to save documents (Word, PowerPoint, Excel, PDF files) and access them later on your mobile device. Free download. (iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry)
 
Evernote makes it easy to remember things big and small using your computer, phone, and the web. Users can save text notes, screen shots, photos, and even clip web pages for later use. The software also enables tagging for easy organization of notes. Desktop and mobile applications offer users the ability to sync across computer and mobile devices. Free download (premium accounts available for $5/month or $45/year).
 
GoodReader enables users to transfer files directly from a computer to a mobile device over a USB cable, a Wi-Fi connection, from the Internet or from e-mail attachments. Its PDF Reflow feature extracts pure text from PDF files and automatically wraps words to fit text-to-screen, making it ideal for reading journal articles on the go. $1.99 one-time download. (iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch).
 
RefWorks Mobile (Note: this URL only accessible via mobile device.)
Access your saved references and folders on your smartphone or PDA. Freely accessible through your device’s Internet browser.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content