Internet Resources for Alumni

Clinical Trials
ClinicalTrials.gov 
Provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.

IFPMA Clinical Trials Portal
Designed to allow searching of ongoing clinical trials (registry) or results of completed trials (database) conducted by the pharmaceutical industry. Provided by the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers and Associations.
Databases & Journals
BioMed Central
An independent publishing house committed to providing immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

HazMap
An occupational disease database containing hazardous chemical information and job related diseases. Developed by the Specialized Information Service of the National Library of Medicine.

National Guideline Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Public Libraries of Texas
Listing of, and links to, public libraries in the State of Texas.

Public Library of Science
Open access journals provided by a non-profit organizational of scientists committed to making the world's scientific literature a free public resource.

PubMed
A database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes more than 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed Central
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Mobile Resources
MDonTap
An application for PDAs that retrieves MEDLINE® citations directly from the PDA through a wireless connection to the Internet.

PubMed for Handhelds
A website for searching MEDLINE® with the web browser of any mobile device.

Skyscape free products
Free resources for mobile devices, including medical calculators, drug interaction guides, CDC updates, and more.
Patient Education Tools
MedlinePlus.gov
Patient education materials from the National Library of Medicine. Includes a medical encyclopedia, drug dictionary, patient education handouts, and online slide shows describing common diagnostic procedures and exams.

Cancer.gov
Patient education information for all types of cancer including screening, testing, treatment, and support service information.

National Diabetes Education Program
Diabetes education materials including resources describing etiology, prevention and control. NDEP is a partnership of the National Institutes of Health, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and more than 200 public and private organizations.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian Form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Online Tutorials and Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Myriam Martinez-Banuelos
Outreach Librarian / Bibliotecaria de Enlace Comunitario
(817) 735-2469