Medical Images & Multimedia

Using Images from the Internet

The Internet is an excellent source of health-related images and many images are freely available for the purposes of teaching, studying, presenting and other educational activities. However, the use of images, even for educational purposes, is governed by the stated terms of use of each site and subject to U.S. Copyright Law. Permission may need to be obtained to use images in teaching and presenting and utilizing images for the purpose of publication commonly necessitates permission from the publisher or copyright holder.

Databases
AccessMedicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. Access Medicine also includes an impressive audio-visual index of clinical and biomedical images, graphs, sound recordings and videos, including an Image of the Day and Video of the Day section.

AccessPharmacy Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.  

AccessPhysiotherapy Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

Clinical Key Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

Goldminer Resource contains images
Goldminer is a  radiological image database that provides access to approximately 250,000 images from 262 peer-reviewed journals.  Search by keywords or by medical terms such as the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.  Searches can be limited by age, gender, imaging technique, or anatomy. Goldminer is mobile device-friendly.  It is provided by the American Roentgen Ray Society, and is free for personal, non-commercial use.

JoVE Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal devoted to the publication of medical, chemical, biological, and physical research. Access includes JoVE General.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience. 

SpringerImages Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources.  These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more.  A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results.  Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format.  Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search. 

VisualDx Restricted Resource Resource contains images
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. Unlike any online text or database, VisualDx captures the variation disease presentation by age, skin type, body location and severity, combining the best medical images in the world with a unique search engine to give you patient-specific answers in seconds.


Selected Websites
Alan E. Lindsay ECG Learning Center
The ECG Learning Center is a complete online ECG tutorial with ECG images, explanations and tests as well as a description of American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association minimal ECG clinical competencies.

Anatomia 1522-1867
The University of Toronto has digitized over 4,500 anatomical illustrations from the sixteenth through nineteenth centuries.

Atlas of Histology
The Atlas, created by Dr. Aulikki Kokko-Cunningham, M.D., contains over 1000 histological features complete with labels and descriptions.

ASH Image Bank
The American Society of Hematology maintains this comprehensive collection of over 2,100 hematology-related images. New images are added each month.

DermAtlas
DermAtlas contains over 12,000 dermatology-related images, advanced searching capabilities, practice quizzes and a differential diagnosis tool.

DPDx - Parasites A-Z
Developed by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Center for Global Health, the Parasite Image Library documents parasites of public health concern.

Embryo Images
This site, developed Drs. Kathleen K. Sulik and Peter R. Bream Jr., utilizes scanning electron micrographs (SEM’s) as the primary vehicle for teaching mammalian embryology.

Encyclopedia of Life
Sponsored by Harvard, the Smithsonian and the Biodiversity Heritage Library, among others, the EOL features photos, videos, maps and encyclopedia entries of plants, animals and microorganisms from around the world.

Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 free available digital materials for health sciences education.

Human Brain Atlas
Created and maintained by the Michigan State University Brain Biodiversity Bank, the Human Brain Atlas contains an extensive collection of MRI and slide images of the human brain as well as those of various animals.

The Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo
The Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo project chronicles the growth of the human embryo through the Carnegie stages of embryonic development via MRI images, animations and photos.

National Eye Institute
The National Eye Institute website includes a searchable image gallery of ophthalmology-related images.

NCI Visuals Online
The National Cancer Institute Visuals Online includes over 2,500 biomedical images, many cancer-related.

NIH Image Bank
The NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of 27 institutes that comprise the National Institutes of Health.

NYU Virtual Microscope
Created by the NYU School of Medicine, the Virtual Microscope displays slides related to histology, parasitology, pathology and more as well as practice exams and the ability to create slide collections for educational use.

Open-i
Open-i is an open access biomedical images search engine from the National Library of Medicine.

PathoPic Pathology Image Database
This database of pathology images can be searched by topography, keyword, image type or diagnosis.

Public Health Image Library
A Working Group at the CDC compiled this gallery of public health-related images arranged hierarchically by people, places and science.

RAND Multimedia
Produced by the Rand Corporation (of Rand Texas Statistics), this site includes videos, recorded conference calls, podcasts and more on a variety of subjects of potential interest to UNTHSC students and faculty including climate change, food deserts, early childhood education, healthcare reform and much more.

WebPath Internet Pathology Laboratory The Internet Pathology Laboratory includes over 2,700 images of gross and microscopic pathology findings as well as tutorials and practice exams on the subject.

Videos
American Medical Association Multimedia
The AMA's multimedia content includes videos on a wide range of medical subjects, including interviews with JAMA authors, medical procedures and diagnostic scenarios, as well as audio files and interactive graphics.

Annals of Internal Medicine Multimedia
From the American College of Physicians, Annals multimedia content includes interviews with authors, podcast summaries of Annals issues and much more.

Cardiothoracic Surgery Videos
Sponsored by the University of Southern California Keck School of Medicine, this site includes numerous heart and lung surgery videos.

MedlinePlus Videos of Surgical Procedures
Created by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, MedlinePlus is an authoritative source of consumer health information.

Nature Videos
Videos from the distinguished science journal focus on interviews with authors and featured scientists.

New England Journal of Medicine Clinical Videos
This series addresses a variety of topics in clinical medicine including examination, sedation, diagnosis, surgical procedures and more.
Books
Atlas of the Human Anatomy, 6th ed.
Online version available from Clinical Key.

Gray's Dissection Guide for Human Anatomy, 2nd ed.

Online version available from Clinical Key.

Human anatomy: Color Atlas and Textbook, 5th ed.
Online version available from Clinical Key.

Imaging Atlas of Human Anatomy, 4th ed.
Online version available from Clinical Key.

McMinn and Abrahams' Clinical Atlas of Human Anatomy, 7th ed.
Online version available from Clinical Key.

For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor

Brandy Klug
Web Services Librarian
(817) 735-5070

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content