Epidemiology

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.  Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database.  More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. 

POPLINE Some full text available
The world's largest database on reproductive health, POPLINE provides nearly 370,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, books, and both published and unpublished reports. Subject coverage includes population law and policy, family planning methods and programs, fertility, health communication, STDs, and more.  An excellent source of demographic and public health information, especially for developing countries.  Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles; some free, full-text documents are provided.  POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

TOXNET Resource contains images Some full text available

The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Combines searching of three major bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index Expanded™, Social Sciences Citation Index®,  and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; they can be searched in any combination. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. An average of 19,000 new records are added weekly to Science Citation Index, and an average of 2,900 to Social Science Citation Index. SCI Expanded indexes more than 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI indexes more than 1,900 journals across 50 disciplines, and indexes selectively from 3,300 scientific and technical journals. In addition to this broad coverage, Web of Science provides sophisticated researcher tools such as cited reference searching and results analysis.

Journals
View a list of Epidemiology Journals available from Lewis Library
Books
Follow the links below to the Library Catalog for location, call number, and availability information.

A Dictionary of Epidemiology, edited for the International Epidemiological Association by Miquel Porta 

Applied Logistic Regression by David W. Hosmer, Stanley Lemeshow

Epidemiology by Leon Gordis

Epidemiology : An Introduction by Kenneth J. Rothman

Epidemiology : Beyond the Basics by Moyses Szklo, F. Javier Nieto

Modern Epidemiology by Kenneth J. Rothman, Sander Greenland, Timothy L. Lash

Social Epidemiology edited by Lisa F. Berkman, Ichiro Kawachi

Survey Research Methods by Floyd J. Fowler, Jr.

More Lewis Library books on Epidemiology

These are books with a general subject heading of Epidemiology.  To browse the more specific headings, such as "Communicable Diseases -- Epidemiology", use the Browse Subject Search instead. 
Selected Websites

American College of Epidemiology
The website of this professional association provides current and previous issues of its newsletter, links to job postings, notice of upcoming meetings and awards, and membership information.

CDC Wonder
Wonder provides a single point of access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  Choose one of numerous online databases to search, or browse available resources using either the A-Z index or the topical index.

Epidemiology.net
This site provides links to online textbooks, courses, and other learning resources for epidemiology, including Understanding the Fundamentals of Epidemiology: An Evolving Text by Dr. Victor J. Schoenbach, Associate Professor, School of Public Health, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

EpiMonitor.net
Provides news about the latest developments in epidemiology.  Includes a weekly newsletter, a directory of resources and services, and more.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
A series of articles produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  It is the agency's primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, and accurate public health information and recommendations.  Articles can be downloaded for later viewing, and podcasts are also available.

WWW Virtual Library: Epidemiology
An extensive epidemiology webliography from the University of California at San Francisco. 

Statistics & Data
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety.  Their site is a good source for national health statistics and includes evidence-based practice reports, conference presentations, an online newsletter, and much more. 

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
The world's largest ongoing telephone health survey system, which has been tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States since 1984.  The site features sample questionnaires, interactive databases, quick comparison charts, and downloadable data files.

Cancer Mondial
Provides access to the World Health Organization's global cancer statistics.

HIV/AIDS Epidemiological Fact Sheets, World Health Organization
Reports by country can be generated and downloaded.

National Notifiable Infectious Diseases Surveillance System 
Annual report compiled by the CDC and required by act of Congress. Includes published reports, charts, and graphs.  Reporting of nationally notifiable diseases to CDC by the states is voluntary; reporting is currently mandated (i.e., by state legislation or regulation) only at the state level. The list of diseases that are considered notifiable, therefore, varies slightly by state. All states generally report the internationally quarantinable diseases (i.e., cholera, plague, and yellow fever) in compliance with the World Health Organization's International Health Regulations.

Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER)
The premier source for cancer statistics in the United States.  A service of the National Cancer Institute, which collects information on incidence, prevalence, and survival from specific geographic areas representing 26% of the U.S. population.

World Health Organization (WHO) Fact Sheets
An extensive list of health conditions, environmental health states, and public health topics.

World Health Statistics
Annual reports on health in the World Health Organization's 193 member countries.  Includes data such as mortality, incidence of diseases, and risk factors.

For more information, see Statistics by Geographic Region or Statistics for Selected Topics.
Tools
Epi InfoTM
Free software for Windows computers, provided by the CDC.  Epidemiologists use it to rapidly develop forms, customize data entry, and enter and analyze data.  Creates epidemiologic statistics, tables, graphs, and maps.

For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Jack Boettcher

Jack Boettcher
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2388

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content