Environmental and Occupational Health

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

CISDOC Some full text available
Produced by the International Labour Organization, a U.N. agency, CISDOC contains more than 50,000 references to books and journal articles, as well as to laws, regulations, chemical safety data sheets, training materials, and more. It covers literature in many different languages, and offers the ability to search in English, Spanish, or French.

Environmental Fate Data Base (EFDB)
From Syracuse Research Corporation, this database includes multiple files:  DATALOG (environmental fate data), BIOLOG (microbial toxicity and biodegradation data), CHEMFATE (environmental fate and physical/chemical property information on commercially important chemical compounds) , BIODEG (experimental values relating to biodegradation subjects), and BIODEG Summary (summary evaluation and reliability codes for different test methods and summaries for biodegradability under aerobic and anaerobic conditions). 

Environmental Health Legislation Database
The Environmental Health Legislation database covers state legislation on topics such as asthma, mercury, lead poisoning, pesticides, and indoor air quality. The database is updated monthly and all entries include brief summaries of current legislation as well as status and bill number. Produced by the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Databases
Links and descriptions for numerous databases provided by the EPA.  Use the Data Finder to learn where various types of numerical data can be found online.  

Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.  Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database.  More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. 

NIOSH Databases
Part of the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health website, this page provides access to a variety of databases on chemicals, work hazards and worker health, protective equipment, exposures, and more.   

PubMed Some full text available

PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.

Scopus Restricted Resource
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 

TOXNET Resource contains images Some full text available
The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Combines searching of three major bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index Expanded™, Social Sciences Citation Index®,  and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; they can be searched in any combination. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. An average of 19,000 new records are added weekly to Science Citation Index, and an average of 2,900 to Social Science Citation Index. SCI Expanded indexes more than 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI indexes more than 1,900 journals across 50 disciplines, and indexes selectively from 3,300 scientific and technical journals. In addition to this broad coverage, Web of Science provides sophisticated researcher tools such as cited reference searching and results analysis.

Selected Websites
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
Part of the Department of Health & Human Services, ATSDR provides a portal to information on hazardous waste, toxic substances, and emergency response.  The agency works with partner organizations at the federal, state, and local levels to prevent chemical exposures, determine human health effects from exposures, and reduce the risks to health.

Air Pollution & Respiratory Health (CDC)
A collection of resources provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.  Topics include mold, carbon monoxide exposure, asthma, and air quality.

Electronic Library of Construction Occupational Safety & Health (eLCOSH)
Website by the CDC on construction safety & health issues. Topics include cold, heat, ergonomics, noise, oxygen loss, radiation, sun, stress and vibration. Many topics are in English or Spanish. 

Environmental Health & Toxicology
Portal for the National Library of Medicine's Specialized Information Services pages. Categories include chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, toxicology, and pesticide exposure.  Provides access to the Hazardous Substance Data Bank, the Household Products Database, the TOXNET search tool, college-level toxicology tutorials,  and the Enviro-Health Links, a collection of web resources on a wide range of toxicology and environmental health topics. New in 2012, the Especially for Toxicologists page includes a long list of toxicology databases and websites. 

Grey Literature Report of the New York Academy of Medicine
Grey literature is research that falls outside the scope of traditional commercial publishers. It can come from government, academic, or industrial sources, and includes such publication types as technical reports, statistical reports, conference proceedings, and technical specifications. Grey literature is an important source of current information for public health professionals.

Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA is a part of the U.S. Department of Labor.  Topics include news, current occupational health related events, compliance assistance, laws, regulations and enforcement, cooperative and state programs, statistics, hazard communication, ergonomics, and other work-related health and safety issues.

Office of Environmental Policy & Compliance, U.S. Dept. of Interior
Provides access to government
 documents in this subject area, as well as information about the Department's environmental justice initiatives, hazardous waste clean-up projects, and response to environmental emergencies.  


USGS Human Health Related Data Sources

Links to U.S. Geological Survey databases, maps, and other information products relating to human health.

US-Mexico Border 2020 Program
Building on the Border 2012 program, Border 2020 is a collaboration between the United States and Mexico to improve the environment and protect the health of the nearly 12 million people living along the border. This bi-national program focuses on cleaning the air, providing safe drinking water, reducing the risk of exposure to hazardous waste, and ensuring emergency preparedness.  In the U.S., the program is managed by the Environmental Protection Agency. 

World Health Organization - Occupational Health
Here you will find descriptions of the WHO's programs in the area of occupational health as well as a topical index and links to publications and actions plans.

Statistics & Data
Envirofacts
Portal for searching Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) data. Search by topic, location, or facility; generate and view reports and maps.  Links are provided for later access to reports, and many can be downloaded for further analysis.  

GEO Data Portal
The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by United Nations Environmental Program and its partners. Statistics are available by country or region, on a wide variety of topics that include population, emissions, disasters, and health.  Data can be viewed online as tables, graphs, or maps, and can be downloaded in multiple formats.  

Scorecard
A user-friendly site for pollution information at the local level.  Covers air, water, and ground pollution.  Identifies top polluters in the community and provides comparative statistics.  

USGS Water Data for the Nation
Portal to water resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites throughout the United States.  Both real-time and historical data is available, which can be accessed using interactive maps.  Highly customizable data sets can be assembled online for download or display.   Provided by the U.S. Geological Survey.

WorkPlace Injury, Illness, and Fatality Statistics
U.S. statistics provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Occupational Safety & Health Administration.  Provides access to OSHA standards and records of facility inspections.

For more resources, see Statistics by Geographic Region and Statistics for Selected Topics.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Jack Boettcher

Jack Boettcher
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2388

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content