**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/evidence-based-medicine. Please update your bookmarks.
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database. A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration. The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly. Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
Provides links to nearly 30,000 items from about 70 sources for evidence-based medicine. Includes links to articles from high-quality journals such as JAMA and BMJ.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Comprehensive website from the United States Department of Health & Human Services. Includes evidence-based practice reports, guidelines and research.
Distills information from published reviews of clinical trials. Offers advice about treatments and diseases for both medical professionals and consumers. Produced by a pain research group affiliated with Oxford University.
Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine
From Oxford, this site promotes learning, practicing and teaching evidence-based medicine. It outlines the levels of evidence. A glossary is available as well as descriptions of study designs. Several downloads are available.
Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD)
Promoting the use of research-based knowledge, CRD is part of the University of York, England. This site includes databases, training materials, and an extensive list of evidence-based medicine websites.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
Searchable site offering structured summaries of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Allows for side-by-side comparison of similar guidelines from different organizations. Provides citations to each guideline’s original source and links to electronic full-text if possible. Sponsored by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans.
Roadmap to better writing
Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants
Uniform requirements of manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals
International Committee of Medical Journal Editors
From research to manuscript: a guide to scientific writing
Michael Jay Katz
Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences
Janice R. Mathews and Robert W. Matthews
Scientific writing: easy when you know how
Jennifer Peat, et al
The craft of scientific writing
The manual of scientific style: a guide for authors, editors, and researchers
Edited by Harold Rabinowitz and Suzanne Vogel
Doing your literature review: traditional and systematic techniques
Jill K. Jesson
- Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
- Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302. We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian.
- Use the Ask a Librarian form. Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
= access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
= some full text
= searchable images
= video content
= audio content