BACH 5310-Community Assessment

Databases

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.

Global Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.  Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database.  More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. 

GreenFILE Some full text available
GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Going back more than 35 years, GreenFILE provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as full text for more than 4,700.

Rand Texas Statistics Restricted Resource Some full text available
This extensive collection of Texas statistics provides fast and easy access to data gathered from more than 100 databases.  It is organized into 7 categories:  Health & Socioeconomic, Population & Demographics, Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, and Government Finance.  Output options include a tab-delimited file or a graph.  Produced by the nonprofit Rand Corporation.

TOXNET Resource contains images Some full text available

The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Combines searching of three major bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index Expanded™, Social Sciences Citation Index®,  and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; they can be searched in any combination. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. An average of 19,000 new records are added weekly to Science Citation Index, and an average of 2,900 to Social Science Citation Index. SCI Expanded indexes more than 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI indexes more than 1,900 journals across 50 disciplines, and indexes selectively from 3,300 scientific and technical journals. In addition to this broad coverage, Web of Science provides sophisticated researcher tools such as cited reference searching and results analysis.

World Almanacs Restricted Resource Some full text available
This reference database combines four almanacs with the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia.   Its 32,000 records include biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. Updated annually.

Selected Websites
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
The AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, and it is the lead federal agency for research on health care quality, costs, outcomes, and patient safety. This site is a good source for national health statistics and includes evidence-based practice reports, conference presentations, an online newsletter, and much more.

American Community Survey (ACS)
The American Community Survey (ACS) site is an ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year.

American Fact Finder
The American Fact Finder site provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island areas.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The Bureau of Justice Statistics site provides information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

CDC Division of Reproductive Health
The CDC Division of Reproductive Health site provides data and statistics on reproductive health topics.

Census Quick Facts
The Census Quick Facts site provides profiles for the nation, states, and counties containing data from frequently requested items from various Census Bureau programs.

Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Fast Stats
The Center for Disease Control (CDC) Fast Stats site provides access to statistics on public health topics.

Census Data 
The Census Data site provides access to United States population, housing, economic, and geographical data.

Data.gov
The Data.gov site provides open access federal government supplied data sets covering topics such as health, energy, education, law, the oceans, and more.

Find Youth Info: Map My Community
The Map My Community site has an interactive mapping tool that allows users to locate federally supported youth programs by address or zip code.

National Institute of Mental Health Statistics
The National Institute of Mental Health provides statistical information on the treatment, prevalence, and costs associated with mental disorders.

Railroad Commission of Texas: Natural Gas Drilling Statistics
The Railroad Commission of Texas site provides a list of agency data and statistics on such topics as drilling, pipeline safety, and and production.

Railroad Commission of Texas: Texas Drilling Statistics
The Railroad Commission of Texas site contains statistics on such topics as drilling permits issues, gas wells completed, and total holes plugged.

Seniors' Health from Medline Plus
The Seniors' Health site contains a medical encyclopedia, news, and information on related topics such as home care services.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
The SAMHSA site provides data covering such topics as smoking, substance abuse, and mental illness. The site also contains methodology reports, topical analytical reports, and other mental health statistics reports.

Tarrant County Public Health
This site contains statistics on a variety of chronic diseases for the Tarrant County area.

Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services
The Texas Department of Aging and Disability Services contains information on rules and statutes governing the agency, as well as new stories and helpful links.

Texas Department of State Health Services
The Texas Department of State Health Services provides information regarding health data, disease prevention, health services, and mental health and substance abuse.

United States Department of Labor: Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
The OSHA site contains information for workers, regulations, data and statistics, and various publications related to workplace safety.

United States Department of Veteran's Affairs: National Center for Veteran's Analysis and Statistics
This site contains quick facts, information about the veteran population, surveys, and reports covering such topics as homeless veterans.

World Health Organization (WHO) Fact Sheets
The World Health Organization site contains an extensive list of health conditions, environmental health states, and public health topics.

World Health Statistics
The World Health Statistics site contains annual reports on health in the World Health Organization's 193 member countries. These reports include information on such topics as mortality, incidence of diseases, and risk factors.

For more information, see Statistics by Geographic Region or Statistics for Selected Topics.

Style Manuals
A style manual or guide illustrates the accepted format for citing your references in term papers, theses, articles, etc.

AMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
The online version of the AMA Manual of Style contains both browsing and searching options.  Users can save annotations, favorite chapters, and commonly used searches.
 
Citing Medicine,  2nd ed., 2007-
The NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.

How to Report Statistics in Medicine
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.

Manual of Scientific Style
Print version located in Lewis Library on the third floor.

RefWorks
Lewis Library provides access to RefWorks for UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members. RefWorks is an online reference management tool that supports research, writing, and collaboration. Use RefWorks to store and manage your citations, create in-text citations as you write your paper, and generate bibliographies in different citation styles at the push of a button. You can access your RefWorks account from anywhere, for free, courtesy of Lewis Library. To use RefWorks you must first set up a free user account.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Picture: Michele Whitehead

Michele Whitehead
Instruction Librarian
(817) 735-2590

Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content