Aging and Alzheimer's Disease

New Research Guides Coming January 2015!

**As of January 2015, this research guide will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/aging. Please update your bookmarks.

Databases

AccessMedicine Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, and numerous works that cover aging and Alzheimer disease, including Clinical Neurology, Harrison's Online and Hurst's The Heart. AccessMedicine also includes images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.

Micromedex Restricted Resource Some full text available
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.

PubMed Some full text available
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, contains more than 21 million citations dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided. Just a few of the effective, topical search terms are aging, Alzheimer Disease, geriatrics, geriatric assessment or health services for the aged. Enter PubMed from the Lewis Library website and you'll tap into the library's subscriptions to electronic journals, allowing you access to much more full text than if you had entered PubMed on the open web.

Selected Websites
Alzheimer's Association
The Alzheimer’s Association, the world leader in Alzheimer research and support, is the first and largest voluntary health organization dedicated to finding prevention methods, treatments and an eventual cure for Alzheimer’s.

Alzheimer's Disease Science Tracer Bullet 97-7
From the Library of Congress, this is a comprehensive and current research guide to resources for further information. The guide provides an introduction and listings of basic and specialized texts, state-of-the-art reviews, government publications, technical reports, databases, journals, and selected journal articles.

Alzheimer Research Forum
The Alzheimer Research Forum reports on the latest scientific findings from basic research to clinical trials and creates and maintains public databases of essential research data and reagents.

Eldercare Locator
Eldercare Locator, a service of the U. S. Administration on Aging, provides local information, referral resources, and contact information for state and local agencies on aging and community-based organizations that serve older adults and their caregivers.

Merck Manual of Geriatrics
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics provides specific and comprehensive information on the care of older people, and is continuously updated to ensure that the information is as current as possible.  Access to all Merck Manuals is available online with no registration and unlimited use.

Medicaid & Medicare
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is the U.S. federal agency that administers Medicare, Medicaid, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program. The website provides information for health professionals, regional governments, and consumers.

National Institute on Aging - National Institutes of Health
The NIA provides leadership in aging research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs relevant to aging and older people. The NIA is also the primary Federal agency for Alzheimer’s disease research.

Social Security Online
Social Security Online is the official website of the U.S. Social Security Administration and provides an array of services, from applying for benefits to replacing Medicare cards.

State of Aging & Health in America Report
The State of Aging and Health in America report assesses the health status and health behaviors of U.S. adults aged 65 years and older and makes recommendations to improve the mental and physical health of all Americans in their later years.
Statistics & Data
AGing Integrated Database
AGID is a simple and easy-to-use query system for accessing Administration on Aging data files and surveys, including population characteristics from the U.S. Census Bureau for comparison purposes. The system allows users to produce customized tables in a step-by-step process and output the results in print or spreadsheet form. Users have the ability to select only those data elements applicable to their needs, and to further refine their results based on geographic locations (such as individual states or AoA regions) or demographic descriptors.
For More Help
Contact the Lewis Library Reference Office using one of the following options:
  • Stop by LIB-222, on the main floor of the Library, between 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M., Monday through Friday.
  • Call us at 817-735-2070 or toll-free at 800-687-5302.  We will try to help you over the phone, or you can schedule an appointment for an individual consultation with a librarian. 
  • Use the Ask a Librarian form.  Librarians will respond during weekday hours, normally by the next day.
You may also want to visit the Database Tutorials & Help page for database instruction and information about how to retrieve journal articles.
Editor
Myriam Martinez-Banuelos
Outreach Librarian / Bibliotecaria de Enlace Comunitario
(817) 735-2469
Legend

Restricted Resource = access restricted to UNTHSC students, faculty, staff
Some full text available = some full text
Resource contains images = searchable images
Resource contains video = video content
Resource contains audio = audio content