Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

AccessMedicine
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.
AccessPharmacy
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.  
AccessPhysiotherapy Tutorials
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications and is an ideal resource for anyone looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. This comprehensive database provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, surveys, statistical rankings, and reports from associations, societies, conferences and more.


Clinical Key Tutorials
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal devoted to the publication of medical, chemical, biological, and physical research. Access includes JoVE General.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the premier website for consumer health information, providing information about more than 800 diseases, conditions, and wellness topics. It combines authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Included in MedlinePlus are a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary; easy-to-understand tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments; and information about both prescription and nonprescription drugs. Health information is available in 40 different languages.
Nature Protocols

A journal database of peer-reviewed laboratory procedures related  to biology and the biomedical sciences. Many include videos showing procedural methods and results.  Subjects include cell biology, genetic analysis, immunological techniques, pharmacology, neuroscience, nanotechnology, protein analysis, proteomics, toxicology, virology and many more.  Coverage is from 2007 to present. 


Salud en EspaƱol
Salud en Español provides topic specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.   It is a one stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets that are all in the Spanish language.
ScienceDirect Tutorials
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience.