Databases

 
more information icon click to view description

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
AccessMedicine
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.
AccessPharmacy
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.  
AccessPhysiotherapy Tutorials
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch™ focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text for 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. Additional citations for pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts are included. Coverage from 1990 to the present.


Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications and is an ideal resource for anyone looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. This comprehensive database provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, surveys, statistical rankings, and reports from associations, societies, conferences and more.


Clinical Key Tutorials
Note: Clinical Key will have a new user interface as of September 23rd. Please contact us if you have questions.
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

Goldminer
Goldminer is a  radiological image database that provides access to approximately 250,000 images from 262 peer-reviewed journals.  Search by keywords or by medical terms such as the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.  Searches can be limited by age, gender, imaging technique, or anatomy. Goldminer is mobile device-friendly.  It is provided by the American Roentgen Ray Society, and is free for personal, non-commercial use.
Health Reference Center
Provides access to the full text of 40 peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including allied health students. It integrates the full text and images of nursing and allied health journals, as well as consumer health magazines, pamphlets, newspapers, and reference books. The database contains more than 7 million citations, dating from 1980 to the present.

Health Source Consumer Edition
This consumer health resource provides full-text access to nearly 80 consumer health magazines, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, and more than 130 health reference books. Additionally, it contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drugs and more than 4,700 brand names. Both indexing and full text are from 1996 to the present. 

Health Source Nursing/Academic
This nursing and allied health database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals, updated on a daily basis. Full text is included for nearly 550 of these, covering many medical disciplines. Health Source Nursing/Academic also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drugs with more than 4,700 brand names.
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online provides comprehensive profiles on public, private, and international companies. Profile information includes product/brand name listings, rankings, financial data, competitors, stock quotes, major industry trends, and industry links.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal devoted to the publication of medical, chemical, biological, and physical research. Access includes JoVE General.

Military & Government Collection
This collection provides current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides 550 full-text publications, including more than 400 that are also indexed by PsycINFO.  Almost all are peer-reviewed. This database covers subjects such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, observational and experimental methods, mental processes, and anthropology. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection, dating back to the 1940s.
Salud en EspaƱol
Salud en Español provides topic specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.   It is a one stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets that are all in the Spanish language.
Science & Technology Collection
Contains the full text for 830 leading journals in areas such as biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, marine sciences, and materials science. In addition to the full-text journals, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 other publications.
ScienceDirect Tutorials
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience. 

SpringerImages
Note: Registration is required to download images, and to save images or searches for later use.
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources.  These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more.  A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results.  Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format.  Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search. 
TOXNET
The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.
VisualDx
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. Unlike any online text or database, VisualDx captures the variation disease presentation by age, skin type, body location and severity, combining the best medical images in the world with a unique search engine to give you patient-specific answers in seconds.