Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

AccessMedicine
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.
AccessPhysiotherapy Tutorials
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications and is an ideal resource for anyone looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. This comprehensive database provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, surveys, statistical rankings, and reports from associations, societies, conferences and more.


Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
Natural Standard
Natural Standard provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including diets and dietary supplements, functional foods, exercises, and complementary practices.  Evidence is systematically collected, peer-reviewed, and then summarized in monographs, which are updated every 3-18 months depending on the topic.  Evidence grades are provided for common and studied uses.  The Natural Standard site offers continuing education for healthcare providers, as well as tools such as comparison charts, interaction checkers, calculators, a dictionary, and RSS feeds.