Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

Web of Science
Combines searching of three major bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index Expanded™, Social Sciences Citation Index®,  and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; they can be searched in any combination. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. An average of 19,000 new records are added weekly to Science Citation Index, and an average of 2,900 to Social Science Citation Index. SCI Expanded indexes more than 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI indexes more than 1,900 journals across 50 disciplines, and indexes selectively from 3,300 scientific and technical journals. In addition to this broad coverage, Web of Science provides sophisticated researcher tools such as cited reference searching and results analysis.
Wiley Online Library
Search more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works published by John Wiley & Sons. Full text is provided for more than 1,000 journals, which can also be browsed by title or subject.  With a free account, personalization features such as saved searches, table of contents alerts, and citation alerts are available.
World Almanacs
This reference database combines four almanacs with the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia.   Its 32,000 records include biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. Updated annually.
WorldCat
A union catalog of library holdings in all formats, containing more than 100 million records from libraries throughout the U.S. and around the world. Updated daily. Researchers routinely use WorldCat to identify items not owned by their local libraries and to check references for accuracy.  UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff may request items not owned by Lewis Library using WorldCat's integrated interlibrary loan request form. To quickly find out if an item is available locally, or to search WorldCat from your mobile device, try the freely available version at www.worldcat.org.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses
Search the more than 8 million records for dissertations and theses in the WorldCat database, contributed by libraries throughout the U.S. and around the world. The database is updated daily. Many of the papers are available online.