Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

SAGE Journals
Search or browse more than 325 journals provided by SAGE Publications.  With a free account, you can set up e-mail alerts, save searches and citations, and create a list of favorite journals.
Salud en EspaƱol
Salud en Español provides topic specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.   It is a one stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets that are all in the Spanish language.
Scholarly Repository
Science & Technology Collection
Contains the full text for 830 leading journals in areas such as biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, marine sciences, and materials science. In addition to the full-text journals, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 other publications.
Science Citation Index Expanded
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, fully indexing 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Includes cited references.  Disciplines covered include biochemistry, biotechnology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and medicine. Updated weekly, with an average of 19,000 new records added. Science Citation Index Expanded is one of three components of the Web of Science, and it can be searched selectively. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. 

ScienceDirect Tutorials
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience. 

SciFinder Scholar Tutorials
Note: Registration required -- open description for instructions.
Produced by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder Scholar provides online access to 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 60 patent authorities worldwide. Also includes references to conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and books. In addition to typical database searches such as author and topic, SciFinder permits searching by chemical structures, biological sequences, substructures or reactions, and the names of more than 53 million organic and inorganic substances. Includes the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry database. Records go back to 1907 and the database is updated daily. You must first register with SciFinder using your UNTHSC e-mail address. After you have received an e-mail message and used it to complete your registration, you will be able to log in and use the database. Also, there are known conflicts with security certificates and SciFinder Web Edition. If you get a warning message from your browser about a security certificate, simply click through to the SciFinder website or create an exception for the site.
Go to Registration Page

Scopus Tutorials
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 
Serials Directory
This database contains information about nearly 250,000 U.S. and international serial titles, including newspapers, journals and magazines. The Serials Directory includes peer review status, publication frequency, format availability, publisher location, language and much more.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides full indexing of more than 2,600 journals in 50 social science disciplines, as well as selective indexing of items from 3,500 leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1900 to the present, and all cited references are searchable within the database. SSCI is a component of the larger Web of Science database, which has advanced research features such as citation reports and mapping, analysis tools, and citation alerts.
speechBITE
speechBITE™ is the Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy.  It contains citations and abstracts for systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single case experimental designs.  Only articles in peer-reviewed journals are covered.  speechBITE is an evidence-based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus is the leading research database covering sports, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports-related disciplines. Subject coverage also includes biomechanics, kinesiology, occupational health and therapy, physical therapy, and public health.  It contains more than 1.5 million records, including references to 22,000 theses and dissertations and articles written in 60 different languages.
SpringerImages
Note: Registration is required to download images, and to save images or searches for later use.
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources.  These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more.  A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results.  Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format.  Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search. 
SpringerLink
Search for articles within more than 1,600 Springer journals, or browse them by subject area or journal title. SpringerLink also contains records for e-books, book series, and protocols; these are not part of Lewis Library's subscription, but free previews of these items are available.  Citations can be exported to RefWorks or other citation manager products.  Where available, links are provided to both referenced articles and citing articles.