Databases

 
more information icon click to view description

PapersFirst
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide from 1993 to the present. This database has more than 6.9 million records and covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. 

PharmacyLibrary
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
Physiotherapy Choices
Physiotherapy Choices provides a user-friendly interface for the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro).  Designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services, Physiotherapy Choices contains references to selected clinical trials, reviews, and guidelines that have summaries in "plain English."  It is an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, which is based at The George Institute for Global Health.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at Australia's George Institute for International Health, PEDro contains citations and abstracts for more than 15,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Trials are rated for quality. Records are global in scope and date back to 1929. Links to full text are provided where available. The database is updated monthly, and users can register to receive e-mail alerts for nine different areas of therapy.
POPLINE
The world's largest database on reproductive health, POPLINE provides nearly 370,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, books, and both published and unpublished reports. Subject coverage includes population law and policy, family planning methods and programs, fertility, health communication, STDs, and more.  An excellent source of demographic and public health information, especially for developing countries.  Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles; some free, full-text documents are provided.  POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.
ProceedingsFirst
Contains more than 190,000 citations to published proceedings collected by The British Library. Meeting held around the world are represented, including congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, and workshops.  Database records list the papers presented at the meeting. Covers 1993 to present; updated semiweekly. 

Protocol Exchange
An open-access repository for scientific protocols, focused on biological and biomedical research.  Users can search the protocols by keyword or browse by subject, date, publication type, and other criteria.  Protocols are posted directly by their authors; many, but not all, are peer-reviewed.  Protocol Exchange is sponsored by the Nature Publishing Group, and some of the protocols deposited there are eventually accepted for publication in Nature Protocols.
PsycARTICLES Tutorials
PsycARTICLES contains more than 150,000 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group (view a list of the journals).  Coverage is from 1894 to the present, and the database is updated weekly.  PsycARTICLES can be searched separately or in combination with PsycINFO. 
PsycBITE
PsycBITE (Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy) was developed to help clinicians quickly identify, evaluate, and implement evidence-based interventions for psychological issues experienced by people with acquired brain impairment.  It indexes systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single participant designs.  These studies are rated for the quality of their methodology.  PsycBITE contains 3,100 citations, some with abstracts, but no full-text articles. 
PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline brings together a variety of important resources from the American Psychiatric Association. These include the DSM-IV-TR; APA practice guidelines; journals, including The American Journal of Psychiatry; textbooks; case studies; patient education materials; self-assessment tools for board certification study and review; and clinical and research news.  Most pages are automatically optimized when viewed with a mobile device.


Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides 550 full-text publications, including more than 400 that are also indexed by PsycINFO.  Almost all are peer-reviewed. This database covers subjects such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, observational and experimental methods, mental processes, and anthropology. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection, dating back to the 1940s.
PsycINFO Tutorials
The largest index and abstract database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences, containing 2.8 million citations and summaries. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, law, social work, and education. More than 1,800 journals are indexed, as well as selected book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. More than 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.  Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association. 
PubMed Tutorials
Note: To link directly from PubMed to Lewis Library's subscription journals, you must enter from the Library's website or bookmark this URL.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset Tutorials
This subset is designed to limit PubMed search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.  The  Dietary Supplement Subset is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine.  It replaced the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database.