Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

MANTIS
The MANTIS (Manual Alternative and Natural Therapy Index System) database is the largest index of osteopathic, chiropractic, and manual medical literature in the world. With coverage from 1900 to present, MANTIS contains more than 280,000 records, with more than 3,500 added annually.  MANTIS uses standard Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).  In addition, a supplemental thesaurus has been developed that permits more precise indexing of alternative medical material.  Approximately 70% of the references include abstracts.
MedicLatina
MedicLatina™ is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.  A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Titles include Revista Médica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patología Clínica, Boletín Médico del Hospital Infantil de México, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomédica, Salud Pública de México, and ACIMED.
MEDLINE on EBSCOHost
MEDLINE is the premier, comprehensive biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains more than 20 million records from 1945 to the present, and more than 75% of them include abstracts.  Approximately 5,600 journals from around the world are indexed.  Broad subjects covered include: Clinical Medicine, Behavioral & Social Sciences, Health Professions, Dentistry & Dental Hygiene, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Biochemistry & Biophysics, Pharmacology, Psychopharmacology, and Animal Sciences. 

This version includes 98% of the citations in PubMed, but does not include ahead-of-print citations or those tagged  in PubMed as "supplied by publisher" that have not yet been processed. 

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the premier website for consumer health information, providing information about more than 800 diseases, conditions, and wellness topics. It combines authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Included in MedlinePlus are a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary; easy-to-understand tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments; and information about both prescription and nonprescription drugs. Health information is available in 40 different languages.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Note: 1 concurrent user limit

This database combines two well-known reference works, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY)  and Tests in Print (TIP), both produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.  Together, they provide information about more than 2,700 testing instruments published in the English language.  TIP is a comprehensive bibliography of commercially available tests that are currently in print. It lists brief facts such as purpose, publisher, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). The MMY adds more than 7,000 expert reviews to guide selection and evaluation.  Coverage is from the 9th edition (1985) to the present.


Micromedex Tutorials
Note: Effective March 31st, the Micromedex Drug Information app for AppleĀ® devices will be retired and replaced with a new version. Access Micromedex and click on the mobileMicromedex link for more information.
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.
Military & Government Collection
This collection provides current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.