Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

IndexCat
IndexCat™ is the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, which was published from 1880 to 1961. It contains more than 4.5 million references to 3.7 million bibliographic items. Of those, more than 2.5 million items are primarily journal articles; 250,000 items are monographs (books, pamphlets, and reports); approximately 300,000 items are dissertations or theses; and 16,000 are journal titles. It references items dated from the 1400s through 1950, and is an important resource for researchers of the histories of medicine and science, as well as for clinical researchers.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, provides citations to articles on drug therapy, toxicity, pharmacy practice, and more. This resource provides access to the abstracts of more than 800 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published from 1970 to the present.
Isabel

Isabel provides access to evidence-based content that can assist in determining or confirming a diagnosis.  Enter clinical features into Isabel and a list of likely diagnoses is presented.  Each diagnosis is linked to additional information from resources such as Dynamed, MEDLINE, and PubMed, to assist with further investigation, testing, and treatment.