Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open access journals use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. In addition to offering a handy online storehouse for these freely available, peer-reviewed publications, the DOAJ provides indexing, abstracting, and free full-text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health sciences, mathematics, physics, engineering, business, environmental sciences, and social sciences. All told, the Directory indexes more than 5,000 journals and nearly 400,000 articles.

Discovery Texas
Using the Discovery Texas site, you can search multiple TexShare databases at once for articles, or search the catalogs of multiple Texas libraries for books and other items. Your search can be as focused or as broad as you wish, and can be limited to libraries that participate in the TexShare card program. Discovery Texas is provided by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

DoPHER
The Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews covers more than 2,500 programs in the areas of health promotion and public health effectiveness. It is global in scope and is updated quarterly. While it does not contain full text, its specialized indexing enables searching on aspects such as country, health problem, population characteristics, or type of professional conducting the intervention. DoPHER, along with the companion TRoPHI database, is produced by The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre at the University of London.
DynaMed Tutorials
Information on Mobile Access to DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis.