Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

Cambridge Journals
Search the content of more than 200 journals from Cambridge University Press.  Use the Advanced Search to identify articles of interest, or use the Citation Search to go directly to an article.  With a free account, you can save searches, bookmark articles, and set up e-mail alerts. 
CINAHL Plus Tutorials
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.   Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others.  CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937.   Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.
Clase and Periódica
Combines two databases, Clase and Periódica, to provide access to more than 450,000 bibliographic citations from 2,700 scholarly journals published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.  Also indexes other publications that focus on Pan-American issues.  Clase covers journals in the social sciences and humanities from 1975 to present; Periódica covers scientific and technical journals, including biology, chemistry, and medicine, from 1978 to present.  Cited items are in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages, and include articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, and interviews.  
Clinical Key Tutorials
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

ClinicalTrials.gov Tutorials
Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about more than 90,000 federally and privately supported clinical research trials in human volunteers. Users can search the database or can browse by condition, drug intervention, sponsoring agency, or geographic location. Database records provide information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, study locations, contact information, and more.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
Current Contents Connect -- Life Sciences
The Life Sciences edition of Current Contents provides access to complete bibliographic information for articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and all other significant items in recently published editions of more than 1,370 journals and books in a broad range of categories. Each weekly publication reproduces the table of contents from scholarly scientific journals. Coverage is from 1998 to the present.