Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
AccessMedicine
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.
AccessPharmacy
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.  
AccessPhysiotherapy Tutorials
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

AGRICOLA - USDA version
Note: You must be on the UNTHSC network or connected by VPN to link through to journal articles licensed by Lewis Library.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature, produced by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Its 4.7 million records cover materials dating from the 16th century to the present.  They encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.  
AGRICOLA on EBSCOhost
Search the AGRICOLA database described above on the EBSCOhost platform.  It incorporates Lewis Library's link resolver, so you do not have to be on the UNTHSC network or use VPN software in order to retrieve full-text articles -- just enter your network user name and password when prompted.  EBSCOhost provides many productivity features such as search result filters, pop-up abstracts, image thumbnails, and direct export of records to RefWorks.
Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch™ focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text for 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. Additional citations for pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts are included. Coverage from 1990 to the present.


ArticleFirst
Bibliographic database of more than 27 million citations from more than 12,000 magazines and serials, covering science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture from 1990 to the present. Users may browse Tables of Contents from individual journal issues. No full text is available within this database, but Lewis Library's linking service is enabled.  It is updated daily.  
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive reference database for life sciences and biomedical research. It provides approximately 19 million records, updated weekly, from nearly 6,000 journals and non-journal literature, including conferences, meetings, symposia, review articles, U.S. patents, books, book chapters, and software reviews. Coverage dates back to 1989 and includes botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related areas of medicine, environmental studies, and agriculture. Interdisciplinary fields such as biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology are also included. BIOSIS Previews combines the content of the print publications Biological Abstracts (1969 to present) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (1989 to present).
Business Abstracts with Full Text

Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from hundreds of key publications and is an ideal resource for anyone looking to conduct research or find information in any area of business. This comprehensive database provides access to product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, surveys, statistical rankings, and reports from associations, societies, conferences and more.


Business Source Complete
Comprehensive business database that provides indexing for more than 4,100 scholarly publications, of which more than 3,300 are available in full text, including Harvard Business Review. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. Includes searchable cited references for 1,300 journals and 40,000 author profiles.
Cambridge Journals
Search the content of more than 200 journals from Cambridge University Press.  Use the Advanced Search to identify articles of interest, or use the Citation Search to go directly to an article.  With a free account, you can save searches, bookmark articles, and set up e-mail alerts. 
CINAHL Plus Tutorials
This expanded version of CINAHL, the Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature, indexes more than 4,500 journals as well as health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, and audiovisuals.   Besides nursing, subject areas include physician assistant literature, public health, emergency services, medical records, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, social work, and many others.  CINAHL Plus contains more than two million records dating back to 1937.   Full text is available for 772 journals, and cited references are searchable for more than 1,300.
Clase and Periódica
Combines two databases, Clase and Periódica, to provide access to more than 450,000 bibliographic citations from 2,700 scholarly journals published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.  Also indexes other publications that focus on Pan-American issues.  Clase covers journals in the social sciences and humanities from 1975 to present; Periódica covers scientific and technical journals, including biology, chemistry, and medicine, from 1978 to present.  Cited items are in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages, and include articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, and interviews.  
Clinical Key Tutorials
Clinical Key combines 12 types of content to support evidence-based clinical care.  It covers all medical and surgical specialties, and provides access to more than 900 current-edition books; 500 top journals; thousands of images, illustrations, and videos; drug monographs; and more.  After creating a personal account, users can build a reading list, save searches, and use the features of the Presentation Maker.

ClinicalTrials.gov Tutorials
Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about more than 90,000 federally and privately supported clinical research trials in human volunteers. Users can search the database or can browse by condition, drug intervention, sponsoring agency, or geographic location. Database records provide information about a trial’s purpose, who may participate, study locations, contact information, and more.
Cochrane Library
A collection of six databases that provide high-quality evidence to support clinical care:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database.  A seventh database provides information about the groups that comprise The Cochrane Collaboration.  The databases are updated either monthly or quarterly.  Additional features of the Library include an online journal club and podcasts. [Note: this collection no longer includes the ACP Journal Club, which is now a monthly feature of the Annals of Internal Medicine. That site can be accessed here.]
Current Contents Connect -- Life Sciences
The Life Sciences edition of Current Contents provides access to complete bibliographic information for articles, editorials, meeting abstracts, commentaries, and all other significant items in recently published editions of more than 1,370 journals and books in a broad range of categories. Each weekly publication reproduces the table of contents from scholarly scientific journals. Coverage is from 1998 to the present.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Open access journals use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access. In addition to offering a handy online storehouse for these freely available, peer-reviewed publications, the DOAJ provides indexing, abstracting, and free full-text access for selected international scholarly journals in many subject areas, including agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health sciences, mathematics, physics, engineering, business, environmental sciences, and social sciences. All told, the Directory indexes more than 5,000 journals and nearly 400,000 articles.

Discovery Texas
Using the Discovery Texas site, you can search multiple TexShare databases at once for articles, or search the catalogs of multiple Texas libraries for books and other items. Your search can be as focused or as broad as you wish, and can be limited to libraries that participate in the TexShare card program. Discovery Texas is provided by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.

DoPHER
The Database of Promoting Health Effectiveness Reviews covers more than 2,500 programs in the areas of health promotion and public health effectiveness. It is global in scope and is updated quarterly. While it does not contain full text, its specialized indexing enables searching on aspects such as country, health problem, population characteristics, or type of professional conducting the intervention. DoPHER, along with the companion TRoPHI database, is produced by The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre at the University of London.
DynaMed Tutorials
Information on Mobile Access to DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical, evidence-based reference tool created by physicians for use by health care professionals at the point of care. It contains more than 3,200 topic summaries, such as diseases and conditions, symptoms, and medications.  More than 500 medical journals are monitored in order to synthesize the best available evidence for each topic.  Levels of evidence are included, as are ICD-9/10 codes and links to references. The database is updated on a daily basis. 
Early Journals and Osteopathic Books
Developed by A.T. Still University, this digital collection provides access to osteopathic journals and books from the late 1800’s to the mid-1900’s. Journals include The Osteopathic Physician, The Journal of Osteopathy, Western Osteopath, and more. Still, Feidler, and Halladay are among the authors whose books are included.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
The eBook Collection contains a large selection of full-text multidisciplinary titles in core subject areas including medicine, science, technology, law, and humanities.
Engineering Village - Compendex & Inspec
Note: Find Full Text links in this shared database search UNT-Denton collections. Use the Journal Finder to check availability in UNTHSC collections.
Provides access to both Compendex, which indexes journal articles and technical literature in all engineering disciplines, and INSPEC, a multidisciplinary database for fields such as environmental science, biomedical technology, biophysics, and nanotechnology. Compendex coverage is from 1970 to present, and Inspec from 1969 to present. Engineering Village also includes access to the U.S. Patent and Trademark Database (where full text is available), EngNetBase (CRC Handbooks for which UNT has not purchased access to full text), and Techstreet Standards (a searchable database for standards and specs, but the full text must be paid for separately).
ERIC
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an online digital library of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC indexes education journals, the majority of which are peer-reviewed. It provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials such as books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers and other education materials.  Journal indexing covers 1966 to the present, and the database is updated weekly.
Exam Master Tutorials
Exam Master OnLine™ is a computer-based system designed to provide realistic and effective preparation for medical board exams such as USMLE and PANCE.  It provides test and study modes, detailed explanations with every question, detailed scoring feedback, and an easy-to-use interface. The following medical subjects are covered: anatomy, biochemistry, histology, microbiology, physiology, pathology, psychiatry, and internal and clinical medicine. It provides thousands of multiple choice questions, both on the body/organ system and medical subject review. Free access is provided by Lewis Library to UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff members, but you must register online to use the product.
Facts & Comparisons eAnswers
Facts & Comparisons is a primary source for drug information for pharmacists, physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals, providing drug information, interactions, alternative herbal therapies, and patient medication handouts.



Geriatrics Care Online
Geriatrics Care Online provides high-quality, trustworthy information created to ensure that all health care professionals have the latest research on caring for older adults.
Global Health Tutorials
Provides international coverage of all aspects of public health, drawn from more than 3,500 serials as well as books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.  Contains 1.7 million records from 1973 to the present, of which 40% are unique to this database.  More than 95% include an English-language abstract, though 158 countries and 50 languages are represented. 
Goldminer
Goldminer is a  radiological image database that provides access to approximately 250,000 images from 262 peer-reviewed journals.  Search by keywords or by medical terms such as the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) used by the National Library of Medicine.  Searches can be limited by age, gender, imaging technique, or anatomy. Goldminer is mobile device-friendly.  It is provided by the American Roentgen Ray Society, and is free for personal, non-commercial use.
GPO
A catalog of U.S. Government Printing Office publications, updated monthly.  Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments, from 1976 to the present.  Contains more than 500,000 records.   
GreenFILE
GreenFILE is a research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Going back more than 35 years, GreenFILE provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 384,000 records, as well as full text for more than 4,700.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments(HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences. Additionally, instruments from Industrial/Organizational Behavior and Education are included. Records contained in HaPI provide information on questionnaires, interview schedules, vignettes/scenarios, coding schemes, rating and other scales, checklists, indexes, tests, projective techniques, and more. Coverage is from 1985 to the present.
Health Reference Center
Provides access to the full text of 40 peer-reviewed nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources that offer reliable health information to researchers, including allied health students. It integrates the full text and images of nursing and allied health journals, as well as consumer health magazines, pamphlets, newspapers, and reference books. The database contains more than 7 million citations, dating from 1980 to the present.

Health Source Consumer Edition
This consumer health resource provides full-text access to nearly 80 consumer health magazines, more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets, and more than 130 health reference books. Additionally, it contains more than 4,500 Clinical Reference Systems reports (in English and Spanish) and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drugs and more than 4,700 brand names. Both indexing and full text are from 1996 to the present. 

Health Source Nursing/Academic
This nursing and allied health database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals, updated on a daily basis. Full text is included for nearly 550 of these, covering many medical disciplines. Health Source Nursing/Academic also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drugs with more than 4,700 brand names.
HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides comprehensive coverage of law and law-related periodicals.  More than 100 million pages of legal history are available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format.  Collections include Law Journal Library, American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), American Law Institute Library, Congress and the Courts, Early American Case Law, and U.S. Code.


Hooked on Evidence
Note: Requires a free personal account. Links to PubMed do not include access to Lewis Library's journal subscriptions.
Contains structured summaries of recent, peer-reviewed research articles on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions.  The database is provided by the American Physical Therapy Association.  Summaries are written by volunteer contributors and are not peer-reviewed.
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online provides comprehensive profiles on public, private, and international companies. Profile information includes product/brand name listings, rankings, financial data, competitors, stock quotes, major industry trends, and industry links.
IndexCat
IndexCat™ is the digitized version of the printed Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office, which was published from 1880 to 1961. It contains more than 4.5 million references to 3.7 million bibliographic items. Of those, more than 2.5 million items are primarily journal articles; 250,000 items are monographs (books, pamphlets, and reports); approximately 300,000 items are dissertations or theses; and 16,000 are journal titles. It references items dated from the 1400s through 1950, and is an important resource for researchers of the histories of medicine and science, as well as for clinical researchers.

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA), developed by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, provides citations to articles on drug therapy, toxicity, pharmacy practice, and more. This resource provides access to the abstracts of more than 800 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published from 1970 to the present.
Isabel

Isabel provides access to evidence-based content that can assist in determining or confirming a diagnosis.  Enter clinical features into Isabel and a list of likely diagnoses is presented.  Each diagnosis is linked to additional information from resources such as Dynamed, MEDLINE, and PubMed, to assist with further investigation, testing, and treatment.





JAMA & Archives
Search for articles in JAMA and other American Medical Association journals, as far back as 1883.  You can sign up for free e-mail alerts based on tables of contents, specialty topics, your searches, or even the citation of a selected article.
Job and Career Accelerator
Note: A free personal account must be created in order to use this resource.
This online career management system includes more than 1,000 occupation profiles, an Occupation Matcher, a database of more than five million available jobs and internships, and tools for creating resumes and cover letters.  Includes computer skills training, sample interview questions, checklists, and more.  NOTE:  The user name and password that you create for this database can also be used with the LearningExpress Library.

Journal Citation Reports Tutorials
Journal Citation Reports® is a comprehensive and unique resource that allows you to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 7,500 scholarly and technical journals from more than 3,300 publishers in over 60 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. JCR helps researchers to identify journals that are most frequently cited, have the highest impact, and publish the most articles.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is a peer-reviewed, PubMed-indexed video journal devoted to the publication of medical, chemical, biological, and physical research. Access includes JoVE General.

LactMed
A part of the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, LactMed is a peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs; possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation; and alternative drugs to consider.
LearningExpress Library
Note: A free personal account must be created in order to use this resource.
The LearningExpress Library helps students prepare for admissions tests, including the MCAT and the PCAT, and for professional certification in healthcare or other fields.  More than 800 practice tests are provided online.  It also provides tutorials for popular computer software programs and other skill-building resources, as well as information about obtaining a Green Card or U.S. Citizenship.  NOTE:  The user name and password that you create for this database can also be used with the Job and Career Accelerator.
Legal Collection
Legal Collection is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world.  It contains full-text for hundreds of the world’s most respected scholarly law journals covering topics such as medicine, ethics, and the environment.



Lewis Library Catalog
Search the Lewis Library Catalog to find listings of the books, e-books, journals, media, charts, models, and computer software in the Lewis Library collection.  The Catalog also provides the ability to manage your borrowing account online.

Lexicomp

Lexicomp Online is a drug information system providing convenient access to concise drug overviews, drug interactions, lab tests, and diagnostic procedures.


Library of Texas
Note: Library of Texas is now Discovery Texas
Using this Library of Texas site, you can search multiple TexShare databases at once for articles, or search the catalogs of multiple Texas libraries for books and other items. Your search can be as focused or as broad as you wish, and can be limited to libraries that participate in the TexShare card program. The Library of Texas is provided by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission. 
MANTIS
The MANTIS (Manual Alternative and Natural Therapy Index System) database is the largest index of osteopathic, chiropractic, and manual medical literature in the world. With coverage from 1900 to present, MANTIS contains more than 280,000 records, with more than 3,500 added annually.  MANTIS uses standard Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).  In addition, a supplemental thesaurus has been developed that permits more precise indexing of alternative medical material.  Approximately 70% of the references include abstracts.
MedicLatina
MedicLatina™ is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and full text for 130 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.  A wide range of topics is covered, including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Titles include Revista Médica del IMSS, Revista Mexicana de Patología Clínica, Boletín Médico del Hospital Infantil de México, Archivos de Neurociencias, Revista Biomédica, Salud Pública de México, and ACIMED.
MEDLINE on EBSCOHost
MEDLINE is the premier, comprehensive biomedical database from the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains more than 20 million records from 1945 to the present, and more than 75% of them include abstracts.  Approximately 5,600 journals from around the world are indexed.  Broad subjects covered include: Clinical Medicine, Behavioral & Social Sciences, Health Professions, Dentistry & Dental Hygiene, Life & Biomedical Sciences, Biochemistry & Biophysics, Pharmacology, Psychopharmacology, and Animal Sciences. 

This version includes 98% of the citations in PubMed, but does not include ahead-of-print citations or those tagged  in PubMed as "supplied by publisher" that have not yet been processed. 

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus is the premier website for consumer health information, providing information about more than 800 diseases, conditions, and wellness topics. It combines authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health, and other government agencies and health-related organizations. Included in MedlinePlus are a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary; easy-to-understand tutorials on common conditions, tests, and treatments; and information about both prescription and nonprescription drugs. Health information is available in 40 different languages.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Note: 1 concurrent user limit

This database combines two well-known reference works, the Mental Measurements Yearbook™ (MMY)  and Tests in Print (TIP), both produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska.  Together, they provide information about more than 2,700 testing instruments published in the English language.  TIP is a comprehensive bibliography of commercially available tests that are currently in print. It lists brief facts such as purpose, publisher, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). The MMY adds more than 7,000 expert reviews to guide selection and evaluation.  Coverage is from the 9th edition (1985) to the present.


Micromedex Tutorials
Note: Effective March 31st, the Micromedex Drug Information app for Apple® devices will be retired and replaced with a new version. Access Micromedex and click on the mobileMicromedex link for more information.
Micromedex provides evidence-based information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, associated drug consults, and more. It is accessible on a variety of mobile devices, using a web browser or one of the free apps provided. Micromedex is produced by an editorial staff of more than 90, consisting of physicians, clinical pharmacists, nurses, and medical librarians.
Military & Government Collection
This collection provides current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.

National Library of Medicine Catalog
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) Catalog provides access to bibliographic data for more than 1.2 million journals, books, audiovisuals, computer software, and other physical items, as well as electronic resources.  Includes records for the journals that are referenced in PubMed and other NCBI databases; these are especially useful for checking title abbreviations.
Natural & Alternative Treatments
Contains more than 700 evidence-based articles covering medical conditions, alternative therapies, herbs and supplements, functional foods, drug interactions, and homeopathy.  More than 12,000 articles are included that are based on double-blind, peer-reviewed studies.

Natural Standard
Natural Standard provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including diets and dietary supplements, functional foods, exercises, and complementary practices.  Evidence is systematically collected, peer-reviewed, and then summarized in monographs, which are updated every 3-18 months depending on the topic.  Evidence grades are provided for common and studied uses.  The Natural Standard site offers continuing education for healthcare providers, as well as tools such as comparison charts, interaction checkers, calculators, a dictionary, and RSS feeds.
Nature Protocols

A journal database of peer-reviewed laboratory procedures related  to biology and the biomedical sciences. Many include videos showing procedural methods and results.  Subjects include cell biology, genetic analysis, immunological techniques, pharmacology, neuroscience, nanotechnology, protein analysis, proteomics, toxicology, virology and many more.  Coverage is from 2007 to present. 


Neuroscience Information Framework
An initiative of the NIH Blueprint for Neuroscience Research, the Neuroscience Information Framework (NIF) database provides access to article citations and abstracts, as well as a variety of other Web-based resources such as research data, suppliers, images, grant awards, and more. Its distinctive features include a comprehensive vocabulary for searching neuroscience resources and the ability to search based on a specific gene. NIF is an open-source, networked environment that is accessible to researchers worldwide.

Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 40 U.S. and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), and the Toronto Star.  The database also contains selected full text for more than 260 regional U.S. newspapers, including The Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Detroit Free Press, The Miami Herald, Daily News (New York), and San Jose Mercury News.  Television and radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, and NPR.
NIH RePORTER
RePORTER provides access to reports, data, and analyses on National Institutes of Health research projects. Updated weekly, RePORTER provides the NIH funding history for each project and the publications and patents that have resulted from it. RePORTER also provides links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the U.S. Patent & Trademark Office Patent Full Text and Image Database.  Reports can be sorted and downloaded in Excel format. Search by Organization to get a list of UNTHSC research grants, or by Congressional District (Texas - 12) to find other grant recipients in the local area.  

OpenDOAR
A directory of academic research repositories that provide open access to documents.  In addition to records containing information about the repositories, the OpenDOAR site includes a search engine that allows users to search the contents of all the repositories at once.
OSTMED.DR
OSTMED.DR is an osteopathic medicine digital library created by a partnership between the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine and VTLS, Inc. OSTMED.DR builds upon OSTMED, a bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine, by providing access to more than 30,000 citations. OSTMED.DR aims to provide ready access to both the current osteopathic literature and to historical documents. Please note that full-text access is currently no longer available in OSTMED.DR.
OTseeker
Contains more than 7,000 citations and abstracts for systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials that are relevant to occupational therapy. More than 1,000 journals are represented, and all are peer-reviewed.  Trials are reviewed and rated for internal validity and statistical reporting.  OTseeker is produced by a team from the University of Queensland and The University of Sydney.

Oxford Journals
Use this site to search the content of Oxford Journals -- look up a single article, search within a selected journal or journals, or search the contents of all available titles.
PapersFirst
An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide from 1993 to the present. This database has more than 6.9 million records and covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. 

PharmacyLibrary
PharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
Physiotherapy Choices
Physiotherapy Choices provides a user-friendly interface for the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro).  Designed for use by consumers of physiotherapy services, Physiotherapy Choices contains references to selected clinical trials, reviews, and guidelines that have summaries in "plain English."  It is an initiative of the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy, which is based at The George Institute for Global Health.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
Produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at Australia's George Institute for International Health, PEDro contains citations and abstracts for more than 15,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Trials are rated for quality. Records are global in scope and date back to 1929. Links to full text are provided where available. The database is updated monthly, and users can register to receive e-mail alerts for nine different areas of therapy.
POPLINE
The world's largest database on reproductive health, POPLINE provides nearly 370,000 citations with abstracts to scientific articles, books, and both published and unpublished reports. Subject coverage includes population law and policy, family planning methods and programs, fertility, health communication, STDs, and more.  An excellent source of demographic and public health information, especially for developing countries.  Searches can be limited to peer-reviewed journal articles; some free, full-text documents are provided.  POPLINE is maintained by the K4Health Project at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health/Center for Communication Programs and is funded primarily by the United States Agency for International Development.
ProceedingsFirst
Contains more than 190,000 citations to published proceedings collected by The British Library. Meeting held around the world are represented, including congresses, symposia, conferences, expositions, and workshops.  Database records list the papers presented at the meeting. Covers 1993 to present; updated semiweekly. 

Protocol Exchange
An open-access repository for scientific protocols, focused on biological and biomedical research.  Users can search the protocols by keyword or browse by subject, date, publication type, and other criteria.  Protocols are posted directly by their authors; many, but not all, are peer-reviewed.  Protocol Exchange is sponsored by the Nature Publishing Group, and some of the protocols deposited there are eventually accepted for publication in Nature Protocols.
PsycARTICLES Tutorials
PsycARTICLES contains more than 150,000 full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group (view a list of the journals).  Coverage is from 1894 to the present, and the database is updated weekly.  PsycARTICLES can be searched separately or in combination with PsycINFO. 
PsycBITE
PsycBITE (Psychological Database for Brain Impairment Treatment Efficacy) was developed to help clinicians quickly identify, evaluate, and implement evidence-based interventions for psychological issues experienced by people with acquired brain impairment.  It indexes systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single participant designs.  These studies are rated for the quality of their methodology.  PsycBITE contains 3,100 citations, some with abstracts, but no full-text articles. 
PsychiatryOnline

PsychiatryOnline brings together a variety of important resources from the American Psychiatric Association. These include the DSM-5; APA practice guidelines; journals, including The American Journal of Psychiatry; textbooks; case studies; patient education materials; self-assessment tools for board certification study and review; and clinical and research news.  Most pages are automatically optimized when viewed with a mobile device.


Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Provides 550 full-text publications, including more than 400 that are also indexed by PsycINFO.  Almost all are peer-reviewed. This database covers subjects such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, observational and experimental methods, mental processes, and anthropology. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection, dating back to the 1940s.
PsycINFO Tutorials
The largest index and abstract database devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences, containing 2.8 million citations and summaries. Also covers psychological aspects of related disciplines such as nursing, sociology, law, social work, and education. More than 1,800 journals are indexed, as well as selected book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports. More than 60,000 references are added annually through weekly updates.  Current chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987-present. Produced by the American Psychological Association. 
PubMed Tutorials
Note: To link directly from PubMed to Lewis Library's subscription journals, you must enter from the Library's website or bookmark this URL.
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. PubMed contains approximately 20 million citations, dating from the late 1940s to the present. It is updated daily and covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.  Most records have abstracts, and links to many free, full-text articles are provided.  PubMed also has useful tools and features such as Clinical and Special Queries, a Citation Matcher, and links to related articles.
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset Tutorials
This subset is designed to limit PubMed search results to citations from a broad spectrum of dietary supplement literature including vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, ergogenic, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition and animal models.  The  Dietary Supplement Subset is a collaboration between the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and the National Library of Medicine.  It replaced the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database.
Rand State Statistics Tutorials
Provides one-stop access to statistics that are drawn from nearly 80 sources at the national, state, county, and city levels.  Search by keyword or browse within its seven categories:  Health & Socioeconomic, Population & Demographics, Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, and Government Finance.  Output options include a delimited file or a graph.  Produced by the nonprofit Rand Corporation.
Rand Texas Statistics Tutorials
This extensive collection of Texas statistics provides fast and easy access to data gathered from more than 100 databases.  It is organized into 7 categories:  Health & Socioeconomic, Population & Demographics, Business & Economics, Community, Education, Energy & Environment, and Government Finance.  Output options include a tab-delimited file or a graph.  Produced by the nonprofit Rand Corporation.
Regional Business News
Provides comprehensive full-text coverage for more than 80 regional business publications in the U.S. and Canada, including Fort Worth Business Press.  Indexes journals, newspapers, and newswires from metropolitan and rural areas.  Updated daily.
SAGE Journals
Search or browse more than 325 journals provided by SAGE Publications.  With a free account, you can set up e-mail alerts, save searches and citations, and create a list of favorite journals.
Salud en Español
Salud en Español provides topic specific reports covering all aspects of health and wellness overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.   It is a one stop resource for evidence-based reports and fact sheets that are all in the Spanish language.
Scholarly Repository
Science & Technology Collection
Contains the full text for 830 leading journals in areas such as biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, marine sciences, and materials science. In addition to the full-text journals, this database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,700 other publications.
Science Citation Index Expanded
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences, fully indexing 6,650 major journals across 150 scientific disciplines. Includes cited references.  Disciplines covered include biochemistry, biotechnology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and medicine. Updated weekly, with an average of 19,000 new records added. Science Citation Index Expanded is one of three components of the Web of Science, and it can be searched selectively. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. 

ScienceDirect Tutorials
ScienceDirect provides citations to more than 2,500 scientific, technical, and medical journals, as well as thousands of books.  More than nine million articles are indexed, including “in press” articles prior to their publication in print journals. Full text is provided for more than 1,800 journals, including Cell, The Lancet, and Osteopathic Family Physician.  ScienceDirect is updated daily. Its state-of-the-art interface provides numerous options for current awareness, managing searches and results, and personalizing the research experience. 

SciFinder Scholar Tutorials
Note: Registration required -- open description for instructions.
Produced by the American Chemical Society, SciFinder Scholar provides online access to 10,000 currently published journals and patents from more than 60 patent authorities worldwide. Also includes references to conference proceedings, dissertations, technical reports, and books. In addition to typical database searches such as author and topic, SciFinder permits searching by chemical structures, biological sequences, substructures or reactions, and the names of more than 53 million organic and inorganic substances. Includes the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) Registry database. Records go back to 1907 and the database is updated daily. You must first register with SciFinder using your UNTHSC e-mail address. After you have received an e-mail message and used it to complete your registration, you will be able to log in and use the database. Also, there are known conflicts with security certificates and SciFinder Web Edition. If you get a warning message from your browser about a security certificate, simply click through to the SciFinder website or create an exception for the site.
Go to Registration Page

Scopus Tutorials
Scopus is the largest citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources.  It contains 46 million records, spanning 1823 to the present and covering nearly 19,500 titles from more than 5,000 publishers worldwide.  In addition to journals, 95% of which are peer-reviewed, Scopus indexes conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, and patent records.  In addition, it indexes 375 million scientific web pages.  It includes 100% of the titles in MEDLINE, yet more than half of its content originates in countries other than the United States.  A number of value-added features enhance the research process for Scopus users.  The Scopus Alerts Mobile App is available for users of iOS, Android, and BlackBerry devices. 
Serials Directory
This database contains information about nearly 250,000 U.S. and international serial titles, including newspapers, journals and magazines. The Serials Directory includes peer review status, publication frequency, format availability, publisher location, language and much more.

Social Sciences Citation Index
Provides full indexing of more than 2,600 journals in 50 social science disciplines, as well as selective indexing of items from 3,500 leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1900 to the present, and all cited references are searchable within the database. SSCI is a component of the larger Web of Science database, which has advanced research features such as citation reports and mapping, analysis tools, and citation alerts.
speechBITE
speechBITE™ is the Speech Pathology Database for Best Interventions and Treatment Efficacy.  It contains citations and abstracts for systematic reviews, clinical trials, case series, and single case experimental designs.  Only articles in peer-reviewed journals are covered.  speechBITE is an evidence-based practice initiative between The University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia.
SPORTDiscus
SPORTDiscus is the leading research database covering sports, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, and other sports-related disciplines. Subject coverage also includes biomechanics, kinesiology, occupational health and therapy, physical therapy, and public health.  It contains more than 1.5 million records, including references to 22,000 theses and dissertations and articles written in 60 different languages.
SpringerImages
Note: Registration is required to download images, and to save images or searches for later use.
Through this user-friendly interface, researchers can access more than 280,000 scientific images drawn from Springer publications, images.MD, and other sources.  These include clinical images, tables, figures, line art, and more.  A variety of limits, such as image type and subject area, can be applied to quickly find relevant results.  Once logged in, users can create image sets and easily download them in .pdf or PowerPoint format.  Lewis Library does not have a full subscription; to see only the images available for download, check the "accessible images" box either before or after conducting a search. 
SpringerLink
Search for articles within more than 1,600 Springer journals, or browse them by subject area or journal title. SpringerLink also contains records for e-books, book series, and protocols; these are not part of Lewis Library's subscription, but free previews of these items are available.  Citations can be exported to RefWorks or other citation manager products.  Where available, links are provided to both referenced articles and citing articles.
TexShare Databases
A collection of more than 60 databases provided through the Texas State Library and Archives Commission to Texas libraries. Includes general and consumer health databases, as well as other subject areas such as K-12 education, business, literature, and genealogy.
TOXNET
The Toxicology Data Network, TOXNET, is a portal for searching U.S. government databases to find reliable information on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. All databases can be searched together, with the results broken out by database, or they can be searched separately. TOXNET is provided by the Toxicology and Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP) of the National Library of Medicine.
TRoPHI
The Trials Register of Promoting Health Interventions covers trials of interventions in health promotion and public health worldwide. It includes references to more than 4,500 trials and is updated quarterly. While it does not contain full text, its specialized indexing enables searching on aspects such as country, health problem, population characteristics, or type of professional conducting the intervention. Along with the companion DoPHER database, TRoPHI is produced by The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Coordinating Centre at the University of London.
UNTHSC Dissertations & Theses
Contains bibliographic records for more than 500 dissertations and theses authored by UNTHSC students since 1994. The full text is provided online for most of them, and copies in other formats can be ordered directly from the database. Dissertations and theses can be browsed by subject or searched by title, author, or keywords. The Advanced Search adds more options, including department, degree, advisor, and committee member. E-mail alerts and RSS feeds can be enabled to notify users when new papers are added.
UNTHSC Scholarly Repository
The UNTHSC Scholarly Repository preserves and provides online access to intellectual works created by UNTHSC faculty, staff, and students.  It contains theses and dissertations (from 2008 to present), bibliographies of faculty publications, The Primary Care Research Journal, and more. The Scholarly Repository is a service of the Gibson D. Lewis Health Science Library.

VisualDx
VisualDx is a clinical decision support system that helps clinicians recognize and diagnose visually presenting conditions. Unlike any online text or database, VisualDx captures the variation disease presentation by age, skin type, body location and severity, combining the best medical images in the world with a unique search engine to give you patient-specific answers in seconds.

Web of Science
Combines searching of three major bibliographic databases: Science Citation Index Expanded™, Social Sciences Citation Index®,  and Arts & Humanities Citation Index®; they can be searched in any combination. Coverage is from 1995 to the present. An average of 19,000 new records are added weekly to Science Citation Index, and an average of 2,900 to Social Science Citation Index. SCI Expanded indexes more than 6,000 journals across 150 scientific disciplines. SSCI indexes more than 1,900 journals across 50 disciplines, and indexes selectively from 3,300 scientific and technical journals. In addition to this broad coverage, Web of Science provides sophisticated researcher tools such as cited reference searching and results analysis.
Wiley Online Library
Search more than 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of reference works published by John Wiley & Sons. Full text is provided for more than 1,000 journals, which can also be browsed by title or subject.  With a free account, personalization features such as saved searches, table of contents alerts, and citation alerts are available.
World Almanacs
This reference database combines four almanacs with the Funk & Wagnall's New Encyclopedia.   Its 32,000 records include biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. Updated annually.
WorldCat
A union catalog of library holdings in all formats, containing more than 100 million records from libraries throughout the U.S. and around the world. Updated daily. Researchers routinely use WorldCat to identify items not owned by their local libraries and to check references for accuracy.  UNTHSC students, faculty, and staff may request items not owned by Lewis Library using WorldCat's integrated interlibrary loan request form. To quickly find out if an item is available locally, or to search WorldCat from your mobile device, try the freely available version at www.worldcat.org.

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses
Search the more than 8 million records for dissertations and theses in the WorldCat database, contributed by libraries throughout the U.S. and around the world. The database is updated daily. Many of the papers are available online.