Databases

**As of January 2015, the A-Z Database List will be available from http://guides.library.hsc.unt.edu/az.php.
Please update your bookmarks.

 
more information icon click to view description

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with more than 7,400 full-text periodicals, including more than 6,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full-text titles, Academic Search Complete offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,500 journals and a total of more than 12,000 publications including monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.  Content goes back as far as 1887, with the majority of full-text titles in .PDF format.
AccessMedicine
A rich source of biomedical information drawn from textbooks, drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, and health news. Contains the full text of more than 60 medical books, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Hurst's The Heart, and the LANGE Basic Science and Clinical Science Series. AccessMedicine also includes USMLEasy, a board exam preparation tool, as well as images and illustrations, case files, diagnostic tools, and videos.
AccessPharmacy
Contains the full text of more than 30 textbooks, as well as monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and more.  Search across all of this content or browse by core curriculum topic or organ system.  A mobile version and practice tests are available once a personal account is created.  
AccessPhysiotherapy Tutorials
Integrates a wide variety of high-quality resources for the study of physical therapy:  textbooks, images, animations and videos, drug information, lectures, references to primary literature, and more.  Search by keywords or browse the content by core topic, modality, or therapeutic goal.  Students can choose practice tests based on selected textbooks or on the National Physical Therapy Examination.  Orthopedic Case Studies provide yet another avenue for learning. 

AGRICOLA - USDA version
Note: You must be on the UNTHSC network or connected by VPN to link through to journal articles licensed by Lewis Library.
AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) is a bibliographic database of citations to the agricultural literature, produced by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. Its 4.7 million records cover materials dating from the 16th century to the present.  They encompass all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.  
AGRICOLA on EBSCOhost
Search the AGRICOLA database described above on the EBSCOhost platform.  It incorporates Lewis Library's link resolver, so you do not have to be on the UNTHSC network or use VPN software in order to retrieve full-text articles -- just enter your network user name and password when prompted.  EBSCOhost provides many productivity features such as search result filters, pop-up abstracts, image thumbnails, and direct export of records to RefWorks.
Alt HealthWatch

Alt HealthWatch™ focuses on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It provides full text for 180 journals and reports, many of which are peer-reviewed. Additional citations for pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts are included. Coverage from 1990 to the present.


ArticleFirst
Bibliographic database of more than 27 million citations from more than 12,000 magazines and serials, covering science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture from 1990 to the present. Users may browse Tables of Contents from individual journal issues. No full text is available within this database, but Lewis Library's linking service is enabled.  It is updated daily.